hindrance rule

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by i3602u, Nov 6, 2011.

  1. i3602u

    i3602u Rookie

    May 31, 2010

    The hindrance rule is not exactly spelled out really well.

    After you have hit the ball can you still call hindrance?

    I would think that you can't I would think you would have to call hindrance before you actually hit the ball. Otherwise you might not like the out come of how you hit the ball so your trying to get a 2nd whack at the apple.
  2. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    You can call a hindrance when the ball is in play. But I your shot goes OUT and you called the hindrance after you hit it then it would not be a let.

    I'm assuming you are talking about a hindrance for a ball rolling in from another court or similar right?
  3. Tar Heel Tennis

    Tar Heel Tennis Semi-Pro

    Feb 27, 2009
    North Carolina
    No. You must call the hindrance immediately. Otherwise, you are giving yourself the "two chances" option, which is forbidden.

    See The Code #17 for an example.

    Edit...didn't see your post Woodrow
  4. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    Yea you must call it immediately when you notice it but if you notice and call it after u hit it it's ok. But not if your shot goes out.
  5. cneblett

    cneblett Rookie

    Nov 12, 2009
    Woodrow, I had an odd situation with this come up. We did play a let which I thought was right. Ball from other court flying over as a guy was hitting his shot. He lined up started to swing and the other ball came in. He made contact but was ducking ball from other court. He was just trying to not get hit by surprise ball but did make contact with right ball which was out. We immediately called let, but by rule was that wrong?
  6. spiderman123

    spiderman123 Professional

    Aug 17, 2006
    Anyone else read this in Jon Lovitz' voice?
  7. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    Well, by rule, it sounds like it should not have been a let. But, given the situation, it sounds like you all agreed to play a let, which seems logical enough.
  8. Maui19

    Maui19 Hall of Fame

    Sep 18, 2010
    I read the whole site in Jon Lovitz' voice.
  9. AtomicForehand

    AtomicForehand Hall of Fame

    Mar 17, 2010
    So satisfying. So much win.

Share This Page