Holy Bat, Man!

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by tennisee, Jul 22, 2009.

  1. tennisee

    tennisee Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    257
    Location:
    Australia.
    Last night playing under lights there were a couple of fruit bats flying about.
    My opponent served, and "thwack!" the ball went off at an odd angle and there was a dead bat lying in my service box.
    We looked at each other, I walked over, picked it up and removed to the side of the court.
    I just said, "take two, you murderer." Of course it was a let; if nothing else I think clearing a dead bat is an unusual delay between serves, but is wildlife like that a part of the court? What if it had been a second serve?
    Am I entitled to call a let if a bat flies past me and distracts me in a rally? ...Cindy?
     
    #1
  2. TenniseaWilliams

    TenniseaWilliams Professional

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    984
    Location:
    Pangaea
    I would certainly give you a let, and a first serve.

    Anything else would be bat sportsmanship.
     
    #2
  3. Lakers4Life

    Lakers4Life Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3,638
    Location:
    Laker Land
    Good Pun! ROFLMAO
     
    #3
  4. MarrratSafin

    MarrratSafin Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,890
    Haha that's interesting. I've once hit a lob and a bat tried to grab the ball high in the air! The lob was looking good, but that means I ended up on the receiving end of an easy overhead lol.:evil:
     
    #4
  5. TenniseaWilliams

    TenniseaWilliams Professional

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    984
    Location:
    Pangaea
    OP started it with the thread title. I do admire him though, very few people later admit to making bat calls.
     
    #5
  6. Svenskpor

    Svenskpor New User

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    VA
    I'd like to know this too - had this happen in a match but the bat flew at my opponent and I gave him a let.
     
    #6
  7. LetFirstServe

    LetFirstServe Rookie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    GTA, ON, CAN
    Listening to a tennis match from a bats perspective.....
     
    #7
  8. jmverdugo

    jmverdugo Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,971
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I saw this happening on an official match of a ITF Junior Tournament, one of the kids hit a lob and a bat hit the ball and slightly change the trajectory of the ball and of course distracted the opponent who ended up lossing the point, it wasnt called a let though, according to the umpire it wasnt anybodys fault!?
     
    #8
  9. JavierLW

    JavierLW Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,901
    I think Ive read that if the ball hits a bird it's a let, so a bat would be the same thing. It's not a permanent fixture or anything.

    If it flys across the court and gets in your way Im sure you can call a let as well, it's not any different then having a stray ball roll across your court, or having another player from another court come running across.
     
    #9
  10. subaru3169

    subaru3169 Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    515
    Location:
    la, ca
    with those type of things, the point should be started over
     
    #10
  11. PatrickB

    PatrickB Rookie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    Then the umpire was wrong. This is definitely a let as the bat constituted an unintentional hindrance, per ITF Rules of Tennis 26 Case 3:

     
    #11

Share This Page