How come Nadal's YTD points > 52wk points??

Discussion in 'Pro Match Results and Discussion' started by T-Noone, Sep 10, 2013.

  1. T-Noone

    T-Noone Professional

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,204
    Location:
    New York
    Clarification please? They should be the same...

    Thanks much.
     
    #1
  2. bullfan

    bullfan Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    7,771
    Not all points are necessarily counted. My guess is that based on rules some of his tournaments don't count. I think his first tournament didnt count.
     
    #2
  3. Max G.

    Max G. Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    4,355
    Looking at his points breakdown at http://www.atpworldtour.com/Tennis/Players/Top-Players/Rafael-Nadal.aspx?t=rb , he has two zeros counted and one 150 not counted.

    Typically, "you have to count this tournament even though you didn't play it" is a penalty for skipping the tournament when you had committed to play or something like that. I think if you withdraw at the last moment you're supposed to show up and do promotional activities and sign some autographs or something, I don't remember. If you don't do that the tournament counts as a zero on your record, and you can't replace it with a better result for 12 months.

    I don't remember the details for either of the two zeros he has on his record. They're from late last year - october 1st and 21st. There's a 150-point result from this year that isn't counted because those are counted instead.

    When october is past, those two "results" will come off his record, the 150 points from reaching the final in Vina del Mar will count instead.
     
    #3
  4. boredone3456

    boredone3456 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    4,937
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    They might have to do with the masters tournaments he skipped? Players of a certain rank must play 8 of the 9 masters...if you play less than that you get a forced zero that can't come.off.

    Plus only so many 500s and 250s can count as well, as only 18 tournaments can count.

    The 4 majors
    8 of the 9 masters
    The other 6 can come from anywhere not of the above

    I think that's how it works


    As to the OPs question that might help answer, he skipped some events and some of the 500s he play may not count because he has passed the limit. I think only 2 500 events can count.

    I may be wrong though.
     
    #4
  5. T-Noone

    T-Noone Professional

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,204
    Location:
    New York
    I get what you all are saying, but then shouldn't those non-countable tournaments not be included in YTD points either? That would make sense to me....anyways thanks.
     
    #5
  6. seffina

    seffina G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    11,629
    No, Rafa can skip a Masters tourny w/o penalty as he has played 600+ matches. I think next year he can skip two w/o penalty. If you're 31+, you can skip them all w/o penalty.

    His 0s are b/c he didn't play a 500 event after the USO last year or 4 total 500s last year. As soon as he plays at least one match in a 500 post USO that 0 will come off and his non-countable points can count. Monte Carlo also counts as a 500, so he only needs to play one after USO since he already has Barcelona/Acapulco/Monte Carlo.
     
    #6
  7. sdont

    sdont Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    6,963
    Location:
    Paris, France
    No, because his 0-pointers have a drop date in 2013.

    That means Nadal could have a greater total in a few weeks even if he doesn't play at all.

    You should look at ranking points breakdown, it isn't rocket science.
     
    #7
  8. sdont

    sdont Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    6,963
    Location:
    Paris, France
    I don't think so. I think a 0-pointer comes off at its drop date and no sooner.
     
    #8
  9. seffina

    seffina G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    11,629
    Oh I didn't mean that it could come off sooner, just that it wouldn't be valid anymore.
     
    #9
  10. sdont

    sdont Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    6,963
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Oh, I see what you meant to explain now.
     
    #10
  11. NEW_BORN

    NEW_BORN Professional

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    1,130
    Simple - because you miscounted :)
     
    #11
  12. Ajosin

    Ajosin Rookie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    It's b/c vina del mar is not countable (150 points).

    All players can have 18 tournaments that go towards their 52 week ranking. Top players (above ranking of 30 in the previous years) have 16 mandatory events in their ranking (4 slams, 8 masters of which monte-carlo does not count, and 4 500-level events).

    That leaves all palyers with two events outside they can use to bring up their numbers. In Nadal's case those two events are Monte-Carlo and Sao Paulo. Therefore Vina del Mar does not count.
     
    #12

Share This Page