How far could one get switching hands with your racquet instead of a true backhand?

Discussion in 'General Pro Player Discussion' started by tennisoh, Apr 6, 2008.

  1. tennisoh

    tennisoh Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    426
    Could someone be successful by switching hands? What I mean is using a typical right-handed forehand and a typical left-handed forehand. I know no one would teach this technique, but I really don't see someone couldn't be successful doing this if they are strong with both hands. I would actually think someone who is a switch-hitter in baseball could pull this off.
     
    #1
  2. tennisdude083

    tennisdude083 Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    473
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    at the professional level it might be hard to switch hands and adjust your grip in the small amount of time you have from when the other dude hits the ball and when you have to hit it. especially when volleying.
     
    #2
  3. rtyd1

    rtyd1 Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    169
    Only if your Echizen Ryoma
     
    #3
  4. Babb

    Babb Professional

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,447
    Location:
    Now down to 4 feet behind the baseline.
    ^^^
    Lol (10)
     
    #4
  5. Tennis_Monk

    Tennis_Monk Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,476
    It is a matter of time before we see someone go high up in ranks with hitting Forehands from both sides....may seem far fatched now..but it isnt.
     
    #5
  6. rtyd1

    rtyd1 Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    169
    It wont happen because of the reasons tennisdude083 mentioned above
     
    #6
  7. Djokovicfan4life

    Djokovicfan4life Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5,484
    Location:
    Stillwater, OK
    I think it would be hard to grip your racquet properly for the lefty forehand (assuming you're a righty). Say you're in the ready position, your right hand is on the bottom of the racquet while your left hand is choked up almost all the way.
     
    #7
  8. daddy

    daddy Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,686
    Location:
    Moon Balls
    I have a friend who instinctivly does switch hands when his bh side is under serious attack and he seems to do it only when he has no time to move and set up a stroke. Usually he manages to send the ball back but its a sitter. I dont know if someone can pull this of on pro level but I doubt it because if it is possible someone would already do it.
     
    #8
  9. Djokovicfan4life

    Djokovicfan4life Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5,484
    Location:
    Stillwater, OK
    Then again if you were allowed two racquets it might be a different story.
     
    #9
  10. TennisProdigy

    TennisProdigy Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    582
    Would it be considered one racquet if you connected two racquets with say a piece of string? :)
     
    #10
  11. spiritdragon

    spiritdragon Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    like tennisdude said, in higher levels u wont have enough time to keep switching
     
    #11
  12. rtyd1

    rtyd1 Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    169
    i've tried using two rackets at once but it really messes up my takeback
     
    #12
  13. racquet_jedi

    racquet_jedi Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,222
    Haha!!!

    :lol::lol:
     
    #13
  14. i8myshirt

    i8myshirt Rookie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    271
    Racket-chucks?
     
    #14
  15. chiru

    chiru Professional

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,455
    here's my rule of thumb for deciding whether an unorthodox tennis shot is worth doing or not:

    Q: Is Santoro using it?
    A: No, this clearly means its not worth using, as santoro has probably at one point or another tried every legal method in the book.
     
    #15
  16. daddy

    daddy Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,686
    Location:
    Moon Balls
    As silly as this idea sounds, I am just watching the Amelia island final and sharapova swiched like 3 times to reach a ball, she used a lefty forehand to get the ball back and suceeded two times.
     
    #16
  17. fer

    fer Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Bilbao
    #17
  18. tacou

    tacou Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7,036
    I've seen Maria do it a few times as well.
     
    #18
  19. bcast66

    bcast66 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    328
    maria sharapova does that all the time its so retarded lol.
     
    #19
  20. kabob

    kabob Professional

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    879
    Location:
    Dallas
    James Blake does the lefty forehand as a defensive shot when he doesn't have time to hit his backhand. It's usually just a weak floater so I doubt it's a good idea to try this unless you truly are ambidextrous or just playing beginners.
     
    #20
  21. Forehand Forever

    Forehand Forever Professional

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,252
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I've used my lefty forehand at least once a match this year for high school tennis. It's won me a lot of points when I'm in situations that I probably wouldn't be able to get out of with just using my backhand. I've done volleys, lobs and on the run shots with it.
     
    #21
  22. daddy

    daddy Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,686
    Location:
    Moon Balls
    Thats why your nick is forehand forever ? You are allowd to hit backhands you know ..
     
    #22
  23. diggler

    diggler Professional

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,174
    Location:
    Sydney
    You don't have enough time on return of serve but there is enough time for groundstrokes.
     
    #23

Share This Page