How Righteous is Brit Johnny Marray?

Discussion in 'General Pro Player Discussion' started by Love Game, Jul 7, 2012.

  1. Love Game

    Love Game Talk Tennis Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    27,293
    Location:
    People's Republik of Kalifornia
    Even tho a replay of the shot was shown, I still couldnt see it ... tho maybe they'll later do a super slo mo on it from a different angle ... still, he told on himself to the umpire, admitting that his racket had touched the net on his follow-through ... it was the 5th point of the tiebreak and his shot was a winner! :shock:

    I wonder how many in today's world would have admitted that touch at such a crucial time, when it apparently wasnt noticed by any of the court officials, including the umpire!?!?!?!?!
     
    #1
  2. Feña14

    Feña14 Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,326
    Location:
    England
    Great to see. He's done us proud even making the finals, but that was a class act. For my money he's been the best player on the court so far aswell.
     
    #2
  3. ThePro101

    ThePro101 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    305
    I applaud him -- I know many college players who would not have called that on themselves, and even a few who would. Either way, he's setting a great example.

    Well done sir.
     
    #3
  4. Sentinel

    Sentinel Talk Tennis Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    29,357
    Location:
    Brave New World
    NONE. Because none of them make it to the net much !! LOL !! Rarely really.

    Surely Noel would, if he did. So would Roger but Roger would be passed by Rafa :) so no chance to touch net.
     
    #4
  5. Love Game

    Love Game Talk Tennis Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    27,293
    Location:
    People's Republik of Kalifornia
    definitely a keeper! :D

    he's really quite instinctive on court ... i'm guessing he'll be getting his share of headlines, eh?

    [​IMG]
     
    #5
  6. Feña14

    Feña14 Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,326
    Location:
    England
    He's been around for years! I remember seeing him 9-10 years ago when he seemed to play more singles. I've not seen much of him for awhile, hopefully this can be the start of a decent career in doubles, we certainly need it for the Davis Cup!
     
    #6
  7. kishnabe

    kishnabe G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    17,111
    Location:
    Toronto
    Please tell he is playing doubles for olympics!
     
    #7
  8. Feña14

    Feña14 Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,326
    Location:
    England
    Not too sure, my guess would be he isn't. His ranking is very low, he plays Challengers afterall.
     
    #8
  9. Dags

    Dags Professional

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    922
    The Olympic pairs are Murray / Murray and Hutchins / Fleming.

    The mixed hasn't been announced yet, so perhaps he'll squeeze in there? It doesn't seem that familiarity with his partner is an issue!
     
    #9
  10. CCNM

    CCNM Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,162
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM USA
    Congratulations to Mr. Marray and Mr. Nielsen for their Doubles championship. I still can't believe the Bryan brothers got knocked out.
     
    #10
  11. TheNatural

    TheNatural Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,854
    You must be blind. His huge follow through landed right on top of the net and the whole net rattled, so he would have looked really bad if he didn't own up immediately.
     
    #11
  12. jwjh

    jwjh Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    3,328
    Liezel Huber hit the ball over the net with her elbow at this year's Wimbledon Ladies' QF but the umpire didn't see it and she refused to admit it. Opponents, Vesnina and Makarova, were of course none too pleased especially Vesnina since Huber did something similar against her the Aussie Open when she claimed to get to a ball before it double bounced when she didn't. Shame on her.
     
    #12

Share This Page