I messed up the first cross.

Discussion in 'Stringing Techniques / Stringing Machines' started by kevin345, Aug 18, 2010.

  1. kevin345

    kevin345 New User

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    I accidentally started the 1st cross from the left side instead of the right. I tied the starting knot on the right side, but then i went all the way across the head and started the 1st cross from the left. It looks alright, but the starting and ending cross knots are both on the right side. Is there any problem with this? Is it safe to play tennis with it?
     
    #1
  2. Buckethead

    Buckethead Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4,039
    It is very unsafe,you can get killed with your racket.lol
    Nothing will happen dude,I have done some mistakes weaving in 3 crosses ,forgot to string the last cross and my rackets are playing just as good.Only thing I noticed was a little more movement on the 3 crosses i screwed up,besides that nothing happens.
     
    #2
  3. Lakers4Life

    Lakers4Life Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3,638
    Location:
    Laker Land
    No problem, I do it all the time to even out the tie off grommet wear on two piece jobs.
     
    #3
  4. Irvin

    Irvin G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    12,289
    Location:
    Marietta, Ga
    It all depends on what type of racket you have. If you do that with a Prince that has O ports on the side it is a big mistake. If you do that with a normal racket with regular grommets it is no big deal.

    Irvin
     
    #4
  5. Ash_Smith

    Ash_Smith Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,941
    Location:
    A green and pleasant land
    ^^^ Yep the Prince O-Port racquets have a different configuration on each side of the frame with the way the pots align so it's basically impossible to string if you get it wrong. On most any other racquet it doesn't matter which way you run the first cross, Like Lakers i'll often change it depending on the condition of the grommets.

    Ash
     
    #5
  6. High Roller

    High Roller Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    Personally, it would drive me nuts knowing there was any glitch in a string job. I would re-string -- but that's just me.
     
    #6
  7. Irvin

    Irvin G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    12,289
    Location:
    Marietta, Ga
    All you have to do is flip the racket over and the knots are on the correct side.

    Irvin
     
    #7
  8. coachrick

    coachrick Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,157
    Location:
    Austin, hook 'em, Texas
    Could he just hold it up to a mirror? Or would he have to face the other way? :)
     
    #8
  9. Irvin

    Irvin G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    12,289
    Location:
    Marietta, Ga
    I am not sure if that is in the rules. I know you can't play with two rackets but I am not sure about a racket and a mirror. But if you play the ball off the mirror you sure won't be able to get any spin on it. What if the ball knocks the mirror out of your hand and it falls on the court and breaks?

    Irvin
     
    #9
  10. coachrick

    coachrick Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,157
    Location:
    Austin, hook 'em, Texas
    I sure hope he remembered to pull the tie-off tails toward the backhand side of the racket. NOTHING worse than mixing THAT up! :)
     
    #10
  11. Irvin

    Irvin G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    12,289
    Location:
    Marietta, Ga
    All kidding aside it does not make a difference which side of the racket you tie the knots on. None what so ever. Some people may want all the knots tied off in the same place but it doesn't really matter in the least.

    Irvin
     
    #11

Share This Page