Identifying the receiver in no-ad

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by Cindysphinx, Aug 10, 2012.

  1. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,067
    I had to play a few no-ad matches recently, which is new for me. Nothing weird happened, but a question did occur to me.

    You get to deuce, and the receiving team decides who will receive. Server hits a first serve, which clips the net and lands in. Receivers say "Let, first serve."

    Can the receivers then decide to change who will receive serve before the server repeats the first serve attempt?

    How about if the receivers make their election and the point begins, but a ball rolls on court half-way through? Can the receivers change their election when the point is replayed?
     
    #1
  2. LeeD

    LeeD Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    35,696
    Let is not a point, nor a start of a point, so you can change recievers.
     
    #2
  3. blakesq

    blakesq Professional

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,319
    Location:
    Connecticut
    i think once you pick reciever, you can't change your mind.
     
    #3
  4. tennis tom

    tennis tom Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,707
    Why would you want to change receivers? Some form of gamesmanship? Cindy, I'm getting worried about you--are you running out of topics? The weekend is here though, and I'm sure some confounding situation will come up for you--or on a court within six degrees of separation--from you. Are you going to the Citi Open tourney in DC, looks very hot and sticky?
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2012
    #4
  5. OrangePower

    OrangePower Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4,045
    Location:
    NorCal Bay Area
    I imagine this is no different to starting a set with one partner serving, let serve... can the other parter elect to start serving instead?

    Or... can receivers elect to switch sides after a let on the first serve of a set?

    I suspect the answer in all cases is no: once you make the election and are ready to begin, the election has been made and cannot be changed.

    I don't know the exact rule though.
     
    #5
  6. Maui19

    Maui19 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,649
    Interesting questions--I don't know the answer, but I LOLed at the typical "what do you want to know for!?!?" response.
     
    #6

Share This Page