if a ball "breaks"...

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by NadalFan1990, Dec 10, 2009.

  1. NadalFan1990

    NadalFan1990 Guest

    I just smacked a serve over the net and, when the returners shot was hit with a good swing, not hitting any frame at all, and the ball just inched over the net and died, I went to check the ball. there was a cut in the rubber of the ball (the pink portion) and I tried squeezing the ball to check the pressure and the ball had no more air left.

    What am I supposed to do in this situation?

    all I did was give my opponent the point, throw the ball away, and continue play with the next point.
     
    #1
  2. PatrickB

    PatrickB Rookie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    Play a let for that point.
     
    #2
  3. dlk

    dlk Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,759
    Location:
    Indy
    I believe you did the right thing.
     
    #3
  4. 10sguy

    10sguy Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    188
    Tennis rules say if the ball is "broken," replay the point (play a let). If the ball has only become "soft," the point stands as played.
     
    #4
  5. sphinx780

    sphinx780 Professional

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,071
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Yup, a let is in order but there's nothing wrong with being overly fair and giving the point when you're unsure.
     
    #5
  6. r2473

    r2473 Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    7,007
    .....the cradle will fall
    And down will come baby, cradle and all.
     
    #6
  7. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    You're a bit out there as far as the rules go.
     
    #7

Share This Page