Illegal Placement of Dampeners

Discussion in 'Other Equipment' started by wolfpackfive, Feb 5, 2005.

  1. wolfpackfive

    wolfpackfive Guest

    Isn't it true that a dampener must be placed outside the cross pattern of the strings, and that in fact a dampener may not even touch the bottom string?
     
    #1
  2. Ryoma Kun

    Ryoma Kun Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    552
    if this was true, agassi and roddick wouldnt be allowed to tie the rubberband where they do, nor would companies cut a slit in the top of teir dampners to allow it to move there.

    it may be a rule, but no one will likely enforce it against u
     
    #2
  3. wolfpackfive

    wolfpackfive Guest

    I agree. I do, in fact, have my dampener touching the bottom string like everyone else. I sometimes wonder what would happen if someone were to demand a ruling on it during a match. It's kind of like that old George Brett pine tar incident with the NY Yankees. Everyone knew about the rule but no official ever enforced it until Billy Martin pressed the issue. Wonder what would happen if someone called Agassi or Roddick on this during a match. What would the umpire do?
     
    #3
  4. DrTennis

    DrTennis New User

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    If you want to play by the rules here’s what the USTA has to say: Rules of Tennis Specifications of Appendix II

    Case 3: Can vibration damping devices be placed on the strings of the racquet? If so, where can they be placed?
    Decision: Yes, but these devices may only be placed outside the pattern of the crossed strings.
     
    #4
  5. KFwinds

    KFwinds Professional

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,318
    Not true. At USTA Sectionals this year an official came straight up to my doubles partner before one of our matches and asked him to move his dampener (although I'm not sure where he originally had it placed). While it may be rare, I have witnessed the rule enforced.
     
    #5
  6. Bubba

    Bubba Professional

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,230
    Location:
    Baseline
    The rule does state 'outside the crossed strings' but it doesn't say that it can't touch the crossed string(s)... e.g. use of a dampner with slot for bottom cross.

    BTW, Samp. uses the Babolat O. like this too.
     
    #6
  7. Swissv2

    Swissv2 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Location:
    Tennis Courts!
    Agreed, I have seen many pictures of Sampras, Agassi, Djokovic, Nadal, Baghdatis, etc. with the dampner touching the bottom cross string
     
    #7
  8. tzinc

    tzinc Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    631
    Location:
    On Red Clay
    Touching the bottom string IS still being outside.
     
    #8
  9. JavierLW

    JavierLW Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,917
    If you are not sure where he had it, then you didnt see that interpetation of the rule enforced.

    (maybe he had it within the string pattern?)
     
    #9
  10. SystemicAnomaly

    SystemicAnomaly G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    11,059
    Location:
    Stuck in the Matrix somewhere in Santa Clara CA
    Yes, touching the string can still be considered outside of the string bed. However, if the dampener overlaps the bottom (or top or side) string, then it is not in strict compliance with the rule. By overlap, I mean that the dampener extends slightly past the string.

    Even tho' a slot is provided for the bottom (or 3rd) string, strictly speaking, it should not be placed such that it overlaps that string. Quite often players will place a slotted dampener so that it overlaps strings on 3 sides so that it does not easily pop out. Most officials will ignore a dampener placed in such a manner. Every once in a while, you'll come across an obsessive (nit-picky) official that is rather anal (pardon my French) about this placement, and will ask you to move it. Not to worry -- this doesn't happen very often.

    I have see a number of players place their dampener between the bottom 2 strings. Since this is more blatant infraction, most officials will flag this as a violation.
    .
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2007
    #10
  11. tzinc

    tzinc Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    631
    Location:
    On Red Clay
    As long as it touches and does NOT overlap it's fine.
     
    #11
  12. Bubba

    Bubba Professional

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,230
    Location:
    Baseline
    Wrong... the rule is not that specific. It's up to intrepretation.
     
    #12
  13. Loco4Tennis

    Loco4Tennis Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,814
    Location:
    Manassas, Virginia
    i think your descriving of the ruling is very clear here,
    but i also wanted to comment on the dampener slots,
    some dampeners have slots on all 4 sides for ease of install on the racquet, you place them sideways first and then turn them once they are between the strings, thats one of the reasons they are there
    also for thoes of you who might think of getting called on this ruling and have to remove your dampener, carry a couple of rubber bands to tie in case this happens
    here is a pic of something you can try
    the rubber band is great because its cheap, its easy to tie and it works!! ,plus it won't slide and/or pop off like some dampeners
    the tie know does not have to complicated, there are prefered mnethods out there for larger rubberbands but this is an alternative when using a longer and skinnier rubberband [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2007
    #13
  14. SystemicAnomaly

    SystemicAnomaly G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    11,059
    Location:
    Stuck in the Matrix somewhere in Santa Clara CA
    Not really. I based my response on what I've been told by more than one USTA referee. What I said pretty much follows a literal reading of the rule in Appendix II and Case #3. It's up to the discretion of the ref rather than the interpretation.
     
    #14
  15. SystemicAnomaly

    SystemicAnomaly G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    11,059
    Location:
    Stuck in the Matrix somewhere in Santa Clara CA
    Clarification:

    Appendix II applies to USTA rules. I looked at a copy of ITF Rules of Tennis and this appears under Section 4 (The Racket). Case #3 that I referenced appears under Section 4 of the ITF Rules.
     
    #15
  16. Swissv2

    Swissv2 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Location:
    Tennis Courts!
    These pictures will settle this debate.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    #16
  17. CGMemphis

    CGMemphis Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    389
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Ive always wanted to try one of these to distract some of the people I play LOL

    [​IMG]
     
    #17
  18. iradical18

    iradical18 Professional

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,095
    Location:
    Lorton, VA
    What the hell is that thing?
     
    #18
  19. Swissv2

    Swissv2 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Location:
    Tennis Courts!
    I would assume that it teaches you how to swing faster and soaks up vibrations! :razz:
     
    #19
  20. JavierLW

    JavierLW Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,917
    That is about the stupidest thing Ive ever seen.

    For a whole new generation of "overhitters" and rotator cuff sufferers.
     
    #20
  21. SystemicAnomaly

    SystemicAnomaly G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    11,059
    Location:
    Stuck in the Matrix somewhere in Santa Clara CA
    Doesn't really settle it. Yes, the pros do it as well as many of us. But technically that placement is not in keeping with the wording of the Rules & Case #3. Don't know if it is really strictly enforced anymore. I personally don't think that this placement should be flagged as a violation -- it doesn't really make a whole lotta sense for officials to be this nit-picky.

    I usually have my dampener down by the frame since I want less dampening = more feedback. However, when using a dampener that easily pops out, I'll push it all the way up to the bottom string as Rafa does in this picture.
     
    #21
  22. Swissv2

    Swissv2 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Location:
    Tennis Courts!
    You posted the wrong picture in your reply.

    I personally think the picture settles it because if Nadal can do this at the very top level of tennis where the rules should matter the most, then a casual player should have the right to do the same. If the USTA rules are so strict in the rule that the dampener must not overlap the bottom string, then there should be a massive recall on almost every single dampener produced, post haste - as they are all designed to overlap that bottom string a bit when pushed snug against the string.

    Personal preference about vibration feedback is not relevant to this discussion.


    [​IMG]
     
    #22
  23. SystemicAnomaly

    SystemicAnomaly G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    11,059
    Location:
    Stuck in the Matrix somewhere in Santa Clara CA
    No, I did not post the wrong picture. They both showed the same thing. As a practice, I don't see the need to re-post very large pictures when replying to another post (once is enough). I wasn't going to include any pictures at all, but decided it made it easier to identify the post that I was replying to.

    Personal pref are not relevant, but personal thoughts are??? I was not using my own prefs as any sort of proof of the validity of the Rule or of its enforcement (or lack thereof). I was merely making the point that, altho' I believed what I've been told by USTA officials, I don't give it a lot of weight & pretty much ignore it (as most other ppl do).
     
    #23
  24. tennisfan_23

    tennisfan_23 Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    356
    ROFL.

    That's gotta be the most ridiculous packaging I've ever seen for a product. Wait. It's gotta be the most ridiculous product I've seen.


    Still... I think I'd have some fun with it. (;
     
    #24
  25. imaginarydogs

    imaginarydogs New User

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Apparently, it's also fun. Lots of fun.
     
    #25
  26. themitchmann

    themitchmann Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,619
    I'd like to teach a lesson with one of those whistlers in, just to see if my students notice.
     
    #26
  27. jasonchu

    jasonchu Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    West Coast
    I found a box of old dampners in the closet for my tennis clinic. As a joke, I put the sorb's in each of the holes on the racquet... ie. every space I could find. the most head heavy, vibration absorbing stick I ever used ....
    and COMPLETELY UNPLAYABLE :)

    I have to find the pic and scan it for the bbs.
     
    #27
  28. Baxter

    Baxter Professional

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,309
    Location:
    Colorado
    By my reading of the rules, you could put a dampener at the top of the racket too as long as it didn't go past the top cross string. Is that correct?
     
    #28
  29. eliza

    eliza Guest

    I got the warning, during a USTA match. I had not even noticed where my dampener was. I took it out and put in my pocket. And smiled because everybody else has the same........
     
    #29
  30. eliza

    eliza Guest

    Yep, sometimes I put two, one on top one bottom.
     
    #30
  31. corbind

    corbind Professional

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,308
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    That would be a great exercise. "Coach, what's that noise?"

    "Johnny, it's just the time of year for birds to call..."
     
    #31
  32. jwbarrientos

    jwbarrientos Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,884
    Wherever you want it but avoiding cross section, wanna use two, use it but outside crossed section.
     
    #32
  33. got spin?

    got spin? Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    469
    Location:
    Dish Pit
    Just dont use one! If your that picky about the ping, your not focused enough, besides if you hit the ball with a decent hit near the center the ball and the string will cancel out the pinging sound, plus I think it makes the stringbed more forgiving
     
    #33
  34. Birdinhio

    Birdinhio New User

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Watford, England
    sampras doesn't actually use the babolat o, he uses the tourna vibration dampener.:)
     
    #34
  35. 6-2/6-4/6-0

    6-2/6-4/6-0 Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    697
    Location:
    about 5000 feet up...
    Years ago I had a little Dunlop vibration absorber that was basically a sandwich of two soft rubber sides with a soft rubber 'hinge' at the top, and then a small hard plastic piece that held the two sandwiched sides together opposite of the 'hinge'. This damper had two vertical slits for each of the main strings, and one horizontal slit for the first cross string halfway between the 'hinge' and hard plastic piece. I used it for years until I found racquets that didn't require a damper. Funny to think that all the while it was verboten...
     
    #35
  36. ChicagoJack

    ChicagoJack Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,266
    I know this is an ancient thread but ... I was google searching for the answer and think I've found the ruling from a highly credible source. Thought I and would share this along with my follow up question.

    [..]

    Quote : "Dampening devices may be located on the outside of the last cross string on the sides, top and/or bottom of the racket face. Multiple devices are permitted. The device may not be placed inside the outside cross strings but the device may touch the outside cross strings."

    -- Richard Kaufman USTA Director Of Officials
    http://www.usta.com/Improve-Your-Game/Rules/Feature/0507_Vibration_Dampeners/

    [..]

    Question: What is the penalty for an illegally placed vibration dampener? While I've never been called on it even at USTA Sectionals or Nationals when there are fairly serious roaming officials on hand, I would like to know if the penalty is a loss of a point, or a game, or just a warning or what. I've got my Prince Silencer Dampener placed on the second cross up from the bottom. On my Donnay P1's the darned things are a royal pain in the arse to install on the bottom cross, and I'm also afraid of pinching my gut on installation so close to the grommets.

    Here is a photo of the dampener I use, courtesy of Corbind:


    -Jack
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2013
    #36
  37. bluetrain4

    bluetrain4 Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    8,845
    Can anyone explain why not touching the bottom string would matter? Is there any sort of advantage that could result from that?
     
    #37
  38. mikeler

    mikeler G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    19,684
    Location:
    Central Florida
    The penalty is a public flogging in the town square. Not worth it.
     
    #38
  39. Overdrive

    Overdrive Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,301
    Location:
    Garden of Gethsemane
    :lol:

    In my opinion, using more than one dampener on a racquet is Busch league.
     
    #39
  40. ChicagoJack

    ChicagoJack Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,266
    Funny stuff! but it's a legitimate concern, I'm, not trolling here. I'm backing my bags for and out of state tourney with roaming officials on hand. :)
     
    #40
  41. ChicagoJack

    ChicagoJack Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,266
    I agree, but I'm not using three dampeners.

    1. The photo isn't mine,
    2. that's not my (Prince) racquet,
    3. The top two dampeners in that photograph are not attached.

    Can people not read? sheesh. I was just trying to show an example of the prince silencer dampener that I have. Please spare me the quips. Real answers would be awesome.
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2013
    #41
  42. Overdrive

    Overdrive Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,301
    Location:
    Garden of Gethsemane
    Jack,

    Calm down before you get an ulcer. I knew the photo was not yours, it was corbind's .

    ;)
     
    #42
  43. ChicagoJack

    ChicagoJack Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,266
    ^^
    Yeah cool, and I have my Gaviscon on hand if required. Funny thing is I've played with corbind, he's actually a very good player by the way. He also does not play with three dampeners either. You've not studied that photo closely.
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2013
    #43
  44. Overdrive

    Overdrive Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,301
    Location:
    Garden of Gethsemane
    I didn't type that he wasn't. :)
     
    #44
  45. ChicagoJack

    ChicagoJack Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,266
    I'm just about done with this conversation, and this thread ... but you said using three dampeners was bush league. Perhaps I'm being overly precise about this point, but that photo does not depict anybody using three dampeners. That was just a baseless and pointless quip. It shows one dampener installed, and two floating loosely on top.
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2013
    #45
  46. Overdrive

    Overdrive Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,301
    Location:
    Garden of Gethsemane
    Post deleted.
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2013
    #46
  47. mhj202

    mhj202 Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    305
    Location:
    New York, NY
    From the USTA website:

    http://www.usta.com/Improve-Your-Game/Rules/Feature/0507_Vibration_Dampeners/
     
    #47
  48. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    Initially, the roving/chair umpire would tell you that it's placed illegally and needs to be moved to a legal position. Failure to comply in 20 seconds would result in a code violation, delay of game, point penalty. 20 seconds later, a game penalty, and 20 seconds after that, a default.
     
    #48
  49. mhj202

    mhj202 Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    305
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #49
  50. ChicagoJack

    ChicagoJack Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,266
    Perfecto, that is the answer I was looking for. Thanks Woodrow!

    -Jack
     
    #50

Share This Page