Illegal Placement of Dampeners

Discussion in 'Other Equipment' started by wolfpackfive, Feb 5, 2005.

  1. mhj202

    mhj202 Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    305
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #51
  2. ChicagoJack

    ChicagoJack Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,265
    By the way, my apologies to Overdrive for my itchy trigger finger. Once I get on the court, I'm a cool cucumber. But the day before a tournament I'm feeling edgy the whole day.
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2013
    #52
  3. ChicagoJack

    ChicagoJack Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,265
    Wow... looks like the ITF specifically bans this brand of dampener in any location. I had no idea. I will figure out a long term solution. For right now (for USTA) I'm going to think I can yank it off within 20 seconds If asked to do so. Thanks so much for all of your info, much appreciated.
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2013
    #53
  4. Overdrive

    Overdrive Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,301
    Location:
    Garden of Gethsemane
    Mhmm... okay. It's fine. I knew something was happening.

    Oh, your playing in a tournament? Mixed doubles? :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2013
    #54
  5. PBODY99

    PBODY99 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    3,212
    Nothing that can alter the ball flight........

    The Silencer is banned because it is attached to the main strings. It may cause a
    altered rebound if the ball contacts it. This is the reason for the no overlap rule.
    TW sells a WORM which works similarly.
     
    #55
  6. Overdrive

    Overdrive Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,301
    Location:
    Garden of Gethsemane
    In short, if you hit a cross court shot, it could curve to the right or short?

    I never knew it did that. Are they banned in college tennis? I'm not sure on that rule.
     
    #56
  7. corbind

    corbind Professional

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,308
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Jack, wish ya luck in the tourney and the roamin' official may be your friend. Perhaps I'm too practical but for the life of me I cannot understand why they have such a crazy rule. I FULLY agree with the USTA saying you need to keep the damps outside the farthest strings and touching the cross is okay.

    Yet I fervently feel the rule that the part that affixes the damp can't overlap the cross. Why? That just makes for a PITA for damps. A good example is the Prince Silencer. By all accounts it's a great damp. Yet the way it affixes makes it "bad" according to the USTA. I mean the two ends of the damp go over the cross slightly. Eh, whatever USTA.

    Let's take this a bit further. I use three O-ring damps similar to Sampras' but mine are quite large. I have them outside the cross all except a tiny 2 millimeters that protrude over the cross because I shove them all the way against the cross. It's easy to move them 2mm downward if someone got all bent-out-of-shape and I'd have to comply because rules are rules. Yet I think they could type another paragraph or two allowing aforementioned types of damps to be allowed because they do in fact abide by the spirit of the rule -- but not technically because of minute protrusion.
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2013
    #57
  8. corbind

    corbind Professional

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,308
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Jack provided a pic of one of my sticks/damps used a year a two ago where the 3 Prince Silencer damps laying horizontally across the strings. I originally posted that pic in a thread trying to explain how to install the Silencer damps. Not as easy as you'd think. It's a bit of work so that picture shows one connected/installed and the other two in the pic are just sitting on top of the stings for illustration.

    I'm essentially Satan for what I've been doing with my racquets lately. Nine damps protruding a whopping 2mm past the cross which means NINE violations! For my egregious use damps the USTA/ITF/ATF/NRA/Pope would love to have me (and my sticks) me burn in hell...

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2013
    #58
  9. SwankPeRFection

    SwankPeRFection Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,509
    The dampener has to be outside of the cross pattern of the strings, doesn't matter if it touches the first string on the outside walls of the pattern. Whomever says that it cannot touch the bottom first cross is interpreting the rule incorrectly and if an official did this, he/she is dead wrong and doesn't know ****.
     
    #59
  10. SwankPeRFection

    SwankPeRFection Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,509
    The big 3 in the center are legal, the other small ones are not.
     
    #60
  11. corbind

    corbind Professional

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,308
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    That's not correct: the damps are legal but their current placement is not. The "fins" protrude past the cross which is illegal. I'd have to slide those toward the throat a couple of milimeters to be legal. Yet if someone (other than an official) told me such I'd deck 'em. Well in my mind that is...
     
    #61
  12. GlenK

    GlenK Professional

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    803
    Location:
    St. Augustine, FL
    When watching ATP pros the majority that use dampeners have it extending past the bottom cross string. If that is illegal then there are a large number of pros using their dampeners in an illegal position.
     
    #62
  13. SFrazeur

    SFrazeur Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,480
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Just to note the Prince Silencer can be legally installed during stringing.

    [​IMG]
     
    #63
  14. sureshs

    sureshs Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    35,045
    That is correct
     
    #64
  15. alpinenut

    alpinenut New User

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Great question. What's the advantage gained by having your frame provide less feedback and less vibration to your arm. I guess if it's in the crosses it's more likely to strike the ball and impart some strange/unexpected spin. I'm glad I'm glad I found this thread because I use a rubberband in my first cross. It works SOOO much better. Guess I need I find a new way to tie it.
     
    #65
  16. struggle

    struggle Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,267
    Location:
    Western North Carolina
    I can only assume they had to come to a "standard" which would generally prevent mis-hits created by placing damps "within" the stringbed?

    I remember when the first vibra-sorb came out, mid 80's or so....we'd place them in between 1st and 2nd cross sometimes. Don't remember any rules on it then, yet.
     
    #66
  17. alpinenut

    alpinenut New User

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    This whole thread had me thinking about vibrasorbs too. If you think about how everyone is so weight conscious now those things were way ahead of their time.
     
    #67
  18. SwankPeRFection

    SwankPeRFection Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,509
    Nope, that's incorrect. Where they are is perfectly fine. They can touch and go over like they are now, they just can't be placed within the mesh of the grid or above the first cross. A lot of people misinterpret this rule.
     
    #68
  19. Big_Dangerous

    Big_Dangerous Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,010
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I was thinking the exact same thing myself.
     
    #69
  20. Overdrive

    Overdrive Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,301
    Location:
    Garden of Gethsemane
    Where is the mesh of the grind? I'm just being 100% sure so I won't be unconsciously breaking any rules.
     
    #70
  21. GlenK

    GlenK Professional

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    803
    Location:
    St. Augustine, FL
    Now that makes sense. It made no sense to me that all these players have them placed in illegal positions. I played tournaments for years and never once heard this being brought up when it was clear the majority of players had dampeners extending past the bottom cross.
     
    #71
  22. SwankPeRFection

    SwankPeRFection Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,509
    Dampeners can be placed only on the mains (top and bottom of racquet) and anywhere on the OUTSIDE of the last cross in both of these sections. (i.e. OUTSIDE of the grid.) It's not a difficult concept, keep them on the outside of the cross strings and you're fine. The problem with some of the dampeners like the Prince one is that it requires engagement ABOVE one of the crosses to stay in place. That's why it's illegal.
     
    #72
  23. Shangri La

    Shangri La Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,169
    Location:
    香格里拉
    Maria Kirilenko places hers illegally.
     
    #73
  24. ChicagoJack

    ChicagoJack Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,265
    ... and here is a photo which demonstrates precisely how she is able to get away with it.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2013
    #74
  25. corbind

    corbind Professional

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,308
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    ^^ Yea, don't think anyone would even notice if she were holding a tennis racquet...
     
    #75

Share This Page