Is Blowing On The Ball Legal?

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by Ucantplay2much, Jun 14, 2010.

  1. Ucantplay2much

    Ucantplay2much Rookie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    Yes, I know it's a weird question and would be a pretty unlikely occurrence :p

    The other day, I had a ball practically sit up on the net and eat lunch before deciding to fall on my opponent's side. Occasionally you get a ball that runs along the net for two feet or so before dropping on one side or the other. Theoretically, a doubles player right at the net would be able to huff and puff and blow the ball down... into the opponent's court.

    In the unlikely event that you could react fast enough and actually affect the ball, is it legal to blow on the ball? You wouldn't be touching it :)
     
    #1
  2. bcart1991

    bcart1991 Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    758
    Location:
    Douglasville, GA
    Not sure, but a MLB player blew a dribbler foul in stead of fair in a game once. Back in the '80s IIRC.
     
    #2
  3. LeeD

    LeeD Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    36,323
    Location:
    East side of San Francisco Bay
    For you or your team to win the point, you have to hit it with one stroke from your racket.
    For the opposition to lose the point, you don't have to hit the ball.
    You will NEVER see an opportunity to blow the ball back to his court.
     
    #3
  4. Jennifer

    Jennifer New User

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    California
    Never heard of blowing a ball back for a point. I doubt the occasion would arrive but as long as you don't touch the ball I suppose you could. Yet, wouldn't it be easier just to hit it...
     
    #4
  5. Ucantplay2much

    Ucantplay2much Rookie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    I realize it's an extremely long shot, but I swear I could have gotten to that ball that was just "sitting" on top of the net the other day. Both my opponent and I were standing there just looking at it, waiting for it to fall. He had tried to hit a drop shot and it landed squarely on top of the tape.

    It reminded me of the scene in Caddyshack where the ball is sitting on the lip of the cup, teetering on the precipice and falls in when Bill Murray's gopher explosives go off and the ball falls in from the earth shaking.

    Maybe it's just the nets on the courts where we play most of the time. I've seen the ball hit the net and then just roll across the top of the net for a foot or two at least half a dozen times.
     
    #5
  6. r2473

    r2473 Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    7,014
    The ultimate "blow job"?
     
    #6
  7. Ucantplay2much

    Ucantplay2much Rookie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    Actually, now that I think about it, I think I hit the shot, not him. Other wise I would have somehow tried to very carefully tip it over the net.

    Or, maybe I just didn't think that fast...
     
    #7
  8. Ucantplay2much

    Ucantplay2much Rookie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    You had to go there didn't you :)
     
    #8
  9. ollinger

    ollinger Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,021
    You would lose the point. Rule 21 specifies that after the ball has been hit by you or your partner, you may not do anything that might hinder your opponent from hitting the ball. Attempting to change its direction of travel by blowing on it after it had been hit would surely come under this hindrance rule. Also, deliberate noises or behavior that are distractions to your opponent come under this rule, and blowing on a ball that he still has an opportunity to hit would likely be a distraction hindrance. Merely your getting that close to the ball when he could still hit it would be perceived as distraction hindrance.
     
    #9
  10. Gemini

    Gemini Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,586
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Also, the chances of you being able to accurately direct a gust of "air" onto the ball so much as move it are highly unlikely.
     
    #10
  11. spot

    spot Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,438
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Put it this way- if someone did that to you the only way that you could claim the point would be is if you were right there to hit it yourself and your opponent's face was in a dangerous spot where you dind't think you could swing and therefore would be allowed to call hindrance. But otherwise its no different than waving your raquet near a ball to try and have the wind push it wide- there isn't anything illegal about it. All that said there just isn't time and it will never happen.
     
    #11
  12. ollinger

    ollinger Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,021
    Waving your racquet at the ball after you've hit it is a distraction if your opponent hasn't hit it yet -- what other purpose could it serve? -- and you should lose the point. We know that throwing your racquet causes forteiture of the point for the same reason -- it is a deliberate distraction.
     
    #12
  13. Ucantplay2much

    Ucantplay2much Rookie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    Gotcha. Thanks!!!
     
    #13
  14. Ucantplay2much

    Ucantplay2much Rookie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    I wasn't thinking of trying to direct it in the air, just knock it off the net and on to his side without touching it. The ball would have way too much going for it as far as momentum goes.
     
    #14
  15. sureshs

    sureshs Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    35,036
    Someone had to say it I suppose
     
    #15
  16. West Coast Ace

    West Coast Ace G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    13,478
    Location:
    So Cal
    Not to mention the loose nets and looser women... :)
     
    #16
  17. FirstServeThenVolleyAway

    FirstServeThenVolleyAway New User

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Would you REALLY be willing to go this far to win a single tennis point? :)
     
    #17
  18. Ucantplay2much

    Ucantplay2much Rookie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    Yeah, I am ashamed to admit it, but I probably would!
     
    #18
  19. Leoboomanu

    Leoboomanu Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    273
    Location:
    Cebu
    that's really a legit argument...hehehe but it's hindrance up until their racquet hits your face...
     
    #19
  20. spot

    spot Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,438
    Location:
    Atlanta
    I think that you guys are confusing the hindrance issue with the legality of the move. So take that part out- what if your opponent hits a volley and it sits right on the netcord, would you be allowed to blow on the ball to prevent it from coming onto your side? Clearly its not hindrance for you to do so. I can't see anything in the rules that would prevent you from doing so anymore than the rules would prevent you from waving your racquet near the ball to get it to sail wide.

    So unless you think that its legal for one side to do it but not for the other side to do it, I think the correct answer is that it would be legal unless the person on the other side is in position to hit the ball and doesn't do so because you are hindering their ability to swing through it.
     
    #20
  21. ProgressoR

    ProgressoR Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,005
    Location:
    No Man's Land
    I think you should practice this move, the approach the net whilst the ball is sitting on the tape and blow it over shot.

    You should spend at least 5 minutes every week drilling this shot. With practice you should be able to control the ball placement post-blow - ie going directly behind the ball, but staying on your side of the net will blow the ball directly into the opponents court, but you could consider approaching the ball from one side and thus blowing it at an angle onto the other side, thus keeping it closer to the net and making the opponent move sideways to return the ball.

    You might also consider increasing your lung capacity to ensure the blow is not weak and feeble.

    Moving to the net to play this shot and then realising you havent got enough blow to get it over the net would be highly embarassing.
     
    #21
  22. stapletonj

    stapletonj Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    Lavalette, WV
    actually, I jokingly do this on down the line passes or lobs that I REALLY REALLY hope are wide....

    Frankly, the odds of being able to actually do this and have any hope of influencing the ball are so miniscule as to be unworthy of a rule or interpretation, etc., but since I am here already, I would suggest that as long as it is not specifically illegal, it is legal. Especially if you are a libertarian.
     
    #22
  23. Gemini

    Gemini Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,586
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I never made reference to whether the ball was in the air or on the net. But, especially if the ball is on the net, you've only got fractions of a second before it falls off or changes position along the net (before it finally falls off). No one is fast enough to track a ball and predict its movement in that situation to be able "blow" it off of the net.
     
    #23
  24. pyrokid

    pyrokid Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,768
    If someone did this to me I'd be laughing my as* off too hard to care whether or not it was legal.
     
    #24
  25. sureshs

    sureshs Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    35,036
    Carrying the hypothetical analysis further, it is also possible to blow on the ball through means other than the mouth, you know.
     
    #25
  26. decades

    decades Guest

    you have way too much time on your hands....
     
    #26
  27. gameboy

    gameboy Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,620
    Related topic, let's say my opponent hits a really high lob and while it is in the air, a lightning strikes it. But the ball lands in, but it does not bounce.

    Who's point is it?

    P.S. What if the lighting hits my partner while the ball is in the air, is it a let? Even better, my partner gets abducted by aliens using their tractor beam. but touches the ball while going up, is that legal?
     
    #27
  28. Sherlock

    Sherlock Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    1. The ball is broken during the point, so you should replay the point (1st serve).

    2. A situation outside your partner's control hindered him, so the point should be replayed. Unfortunately, your partner would probably be unable to continue playing so you would have to retire from the match.

    3. I think this would depend on whether or not the tractor beam hindered your opponents from playing the shot.
     
    #28
  29. Austinthecity

    Austinthecity Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Location:
    carrollton, ga
    I would like to believe that you cannot blow on the ball in an attempt to change the direction of the ball. As a broader ruling, I would like to interpret the rules as to say that you can't try to move the ball with anything other than your racket.

    With these interpretations, maybe I would have a chance against Jedis.
     
    #29
  30. Ucantplay2much

    Ucantplay2much Rookie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    They read your mind and know exactly where you're going to hit , so you're still hosed.
     
    #30
  31. Ucantplay2much

    Ucantplay2much Rookie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    Nope, just thought about it after watching a ball sit right on top of the net for two seconds or so after hitting a drop shot.
     
    #31
  32. Figjam

    Figjam Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    768
    Location:
    DENVER
    are they legal or illegal aliens? also depends on if you are in arizona or not.
     
    #32
  33. sureshs

    sureshs Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    35,036
    #33
  34. El Diablo

    El Diablo Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3,560
    Let's turn that argument around. If I had hit the ball that was sitting on top of the net cord and followed the ball to net to begin to blow it to the opposite side, it would have to be a hindrance as, even if the opponent was not near the ball, my being inches from it is an obvious distraction and hindrance such that he could not approach the ball freely to strike it with my head next to it(which, even if he was still on the baseline, he could do, as the ball was not yet fallen). So clearly the person who hit the ball could not be allowed to blow on it. Would you then say that the receiver could do it but the hitter couldn't.
     
    #34
  35. Ucantplay2much

    Ucantplay2much Rookie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    If that's the case, if the receiver just dinks it with HIS racquet, his racquet would be on my side of the net, I wouldn't be able to hit the ball upwards to get it over the net and therefore it would be a hindrance to me returning the ball to him...
     
    #35
  36. Ucantplay2much

    Ucantplay2much Rookie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    #36
  37. LuckyR

    LuckyR Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    6,404
    Location:
    The Great NW
    Blowing on the ball is legal, but using your telepathic powers is not.
     
    #37
  38. Annika

    Annika Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    566
    Blowing on the ball is legal but your pathetic post is not. :shock:
     
    #38
  39. subban

    subban Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Forest Hills Gardens, Queens, New York, USA
    Well, if we ever colonize Mars or the Moon with much less gravity than earth and tennis catches on outdoors with spacesuits this thread has substance.
     
    #39
  40. amarone

    amarone Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Atlanta
    I am not sure about that. If you are standing in a legitimate position on your side of the court, I don't see that the opponent can claim a hindrance just because s/he cannot do a follow through. What if, instead of blowing on the ball, you hit it with your racquet? You are still in a position right up against the net - are you saying that the opponent can claim a hindrance if unable to perform their follow through without hitting you? This specific situation is not addressed in the rules, but it doesn't sound like a valid hindrance to me.
     
    #40
  41. topanlego

    topanlego Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    Vancity
    Can you tap the ball over if it is sitting on the tape after your opponent hit it?
     
    #41
  42. spot

    spot Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,438
    Location:
    Atlanta
    amarone- if its your turn to hit the ball then I don't think the opponent can call hindrance no matter what you do.

    If you were on the other side of the court then the only time they coudl call hindrance would be when they were in position to hit the ball but didn't do so because of your actions.
     
    #42
  43. amarone

    amarone Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Yes, as long as you don't hit the net.
     
    #43
  44. amarone

    amarone Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Atlanta
    That is what I suspect also.
     
    #44

Share This Page