Is this legal in a match?

Discussion in 'Tennis Tips/Instruction' started by teppeiahn1, Jul 7, 2009.

  1. teppeiahn1

    teppeiahn1 Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    394
    When ur about to serve, you decide to serve 15 ft behind baseline wit a massive kik serve
     
    #1
  2. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    As long as you are within the sidelines, yes..
     
    #2
  3. jmverdugo

    jmverdugo Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,971
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    It is legal, but it doesnt make any sense IMO.
     
    #3
  4. WildVolley

    WildVolley Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5,698
    Hitting from that far back is going to limit your angles and make the ball arrive to the returner with less speed. But if in a box between the center line and outside line, it is legal.
     
    #4
  5. wngan9447

    wngan9447 New User

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    yes... no point though
     
    #5
  6. chess9

    chess9 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Messages:
    4,274
    Location:
    1.d4
    If hitting long is your nemesis, then step back a foot from the baseline to serve. If you keep hitting the ball into the net, move up to the service line and serve from there. No one I know seems to mind foot faults. ;)

    -Robert
     
    #6
  7. user92626

    user92626 Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,142
    Can you explain the sidelines rule a bit?

    I thought there was some rule about it but a bunch of guys that I play with just stand way wide out and serve. Since no one's serve can win him game we don't even care calling it or calling out stepping 1 ft+ inside the baseline!
     
    #7
  8. chess9

    chess9 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Messages:
    4,274
    Location:
    1.d4
    No part of your foot may be outside the singles sideline for singles or the doubles sideline for doubles WHEN SERVING.

    -Robert
     
    #8
  9. fattsoo

    fattsoo Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    451
    Why would you want to do that? The returner can just step up before the kick service has a chance to kick too high and hit a short shot...if you are serving so far behind, you have very little chance to get in position for that return
     
    #9
  10. Frankauc

    Frankauc Professional

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    949
    yeah you can do it but personnaly i would volley your serve. lol
     
    #10
  11. lightning.lu10

    lightning.lu10 New User

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    I'm assuming you mean more of a half volley because I don't think you'd want to volley serves...
     
    #11
  12. Djokovicfan4life

    Djokovicfan4life Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5,484
    Location:
    Stillwater, OK
    Now that, on the other hand, IS illegal.
     
    #12
  13. 10nistennis

    10nistennis Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    352
    Location:
    TX
    Actually you COULD volley serves. Losing the point because of that is a totally different matter. :twisted:



    To the OP, trying to kick serve from that far away is not a very good idea.
     
    #13
  14. GuyClinch

    GuyClinch Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    4,685
    LMAO if you could volley serves that's all anyone would ever do. :p
     
    #14
  15. eagle

    eagle Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,585
    Location:
    Kona, Hawaii
    ^^ Interesting.
    I'd hate to try that on a Roddick serve. :)

    r,
    eagle
     
    #15
  16. 10nistennis

    10nistennis Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    352
    Location:
    TX
    I don't think anyone's reflexes can move fast enough to actually hit a volley off of his serve. I wouldn't want to be the guy trying to volley that serve. OUCH. :shock:
     
    #16
  17. SystemicAnomaly

    SystemicAnomaly G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    10,938
    Location:
    Stuck in the Matrix somewhere in Santa Clara CA
    You can't cross the center mark either. Some players start very close to the center mark and chase their toss so that one foot or the other crosses an imaginary extension of the center mark prior to contact. This is a foot fault.
     
    #17
  18. chess9

    chess9 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Messages:
    4,274
    Location:
    1.d4
    Yes, instructive addendum.

    -Robert
     
    #18
  19. teppeiahn1

    teppeiahn1 Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    394
    Its not something you always want to but but maby 1nce in a match so the opponent goes O.O lol. and most opponents wont know what im doing and wit the kick i can actualy comeback to the baseline befor its returned.

    I just think it might throw people off lol but prolly wont ever do it in a match.

    And i think it would be cool to see the ball clear the net by like 15 feet and kick up
     
    #19

Share This Page