Is this legal?

Discussion in 'Tennis Tips/Instruction' started by SirSweetSpot, Jan 4, 2010.

  1. SirSweetSpot

    SirSweetSpot Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    539
    Okay, so my opponent hoists up an easy lob which I crush with an overhead smash. However, I hit it hard enough (and short) that it bounces up over the fence where my opponent runs through the open gate and attempts to return the ball from outside the fence. He framed it.:-?

    Is this a legal attempt?
     
    #1
  2. jonnythan

    jonnythan Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,356
    I'm no authority, but I'm pretty sure that it is perfectly legal.
     
    #2
  3. autumn_leaf

    autumn_leaf Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,928
    Location:
    Taunton, MA
    i'm pretty sure that's perfectly fine. i guess this is the same as when ping pong players have to sometime jump into the crowd to get a ball back. i'm sure some pros have tried jumping over the stands when possible lol.
     
    #3
  4. JRstriker12

    JRstriker12 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    3,364
    I have to hear the official answer to this one.

    My guess is that if he gets it before it bounces outside the court, then it's still in play. The Rules say:

    USTA Comment 11.1: Is a point decided when a good shot has
    clearly passed a player, or when an apparently bad shot passes over
    the baseline or sideline? No. A ball is in play until it bounces twice or
    lands outside the court, hits a permanent fixture, or hits a player.
    A ball
    that becomes imbedded in the net is out of play.
     
    #4
  5. mikro112

    mikro112 Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    I don't think a player is allowed to leave the court.
     
    #5
  6. fed_the_savior

    fed_the_savior Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,525
    fluck man if somebody gets a shot back like that how could you possible not give it to them... and anyway you could probably just hit it for a winner. but i've never seen a rule "you can't leave the court," that's just ridiculous
     
    #6
  7. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    You are not allowed to leave the court for an unauthorized reason (i.e. extra bathroom break, make a phone call, replace rackets).

    In this situation, yes it is legal to run out and hit the ball as long as it hasn't bounced twice or hit a permanent structure.
     
    #7
  8. mikro112

    mikro112 Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Ok. Thanks for clarification!
     
    #8
  9. jrod

    jrod Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566

    Just be sure you time your smash so that any oncoming traffic aids your efforts to win the point.
     
    #9
  10. 10s talk

    10s talk Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    566
    you should have locked the gate :wink:
     
    #10
  11. SystemicAnomaly

    SystemicAnomaly G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    10,938
    Location:
    Stuck in the Matrix somewhere in Santa Clara CA
    Sounds perfectly legal to me. And very creative to boot. I've jumped up on a bench to play a shot more than once. I've seen a few players climb almost half-way up the back fence to play high bouncing shots (the sort of thing that you see on baseball highlights).

    In the future, perhaps I'll leave the gates open to facilitate this type of save.:twisted:
     
    #11
  12. ALten1

    ALten1 Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    200
    Whether its legal or not, a person gets that shot back from outside the fence, im putting my raquet down and clapping.....then picking my raquet back up and hitting his return to the far end on the other side of the court and hoping the sucker doesn't run it down.
     
    #12
  13. Ljubicic for number1

    Ljubicic for number1 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,172
    Location:
    Home Of The Socceroos
    Legal, Novak leaps into the stands flirting with hot girls and doing his nipple tassel thing and still hits a winner. So totally legal in my opinion:)
     
    #13
  14. SirSweetSpot

    SirSweetSpot Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    539
    Okay, thanks everybody.:)
     
    #14
  15. FedExpress117

    FedExpress117 Rookie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    232
    That's legal and it's also something I would like to see on video :D. He's just not allowed to touch your side of the court. In singles, he can have his foot on your doubles alleys.
     
    #15
  16. SirSweetSpot

    SirSweetSpot Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    539
    Is this true!?
     
    #16
  17. PatrickB

    PatrickB Rookie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    In singles, your doubles alley isn't part of your court, so yes, this is true. In addition, if singles sticks are in place, the part of the net outside of the singles sticks aren't part of the formal net, and can also be touched, unlike the sticks themselves and the net between the sticks.

    For example, if your opponent were running for a shot at net, hit the ball in, and then placed his hand on the part of the net between the single's stick and the net post, jumped over the rest of the net without touching the rest of the net, and landed completely in the doubles alley on your side, the point would continue. :)
     
    #17
  18. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    Yes it's true.
     
    #18
  19. Dedans Penthouse

    Dedans Penthouse Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,968
    Location:
    Antarctica
    "Give me land, lots of land under sunny skies above, don't fence me in..."

    Legal, with "style points" to boot.
     
    #19

Share This Page