Is this shock-absorber on the top, legal for tournament-play?

Discussion in 'Racquets' started by jmsx521, Nov 29, 2006.

  1. jmsx521

    jmsx521 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,496
    #1
  2. Redflea

    Redflea Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,852
    I believe the rule is you can't have anything on the crosses at the top or bottom, or on the mains at either side...dampeners have to be in the "open" area between the last string and the frame.

    So I think what you're doing would be considered illegal...
     
    #2
  3. tennisiscoolmtl

    tennisiscoolmtl New User

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    I know

    Not true the rules are as fallows- You can have a shack dampener anywhere as long as it is no surronded by string... it has to be in the gap between string and frame but it can be anywhere on the raquet, Top bottom left or right
     
    #3
  4. Noveson

    Noveson Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,241
    Man Jmsx how many freaking dampners do you need?
     
    #4
  5. pNoyr3D

    pNoyr3D Professional

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,463
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    Seriously lol!! That is a lot of dampeners. Anyways I thought the rule was that you aren't supposed to have a dampener over the first bottom string going horizontal..
     
    #5
  6. aznspongehead

    aznspongehead Rookie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    310
    Location:
    Southern CA
    Holy crap that's one dampened racket... I just put one on mine so the string wouldn't make that annoying sound.

    Yeah I believe there shouldn't be any foreign objects above the bottom cross.
     
    #6
  7. anirut

    anirut Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    5,086
    Location:
    Krungthep (Bangkok), Siam (Thailand)
    Jmsx, may I ask what Dunlop is that? The 100G?
     
    #7
  8. pNoyr3D

    pNoyr3D Professional

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,463
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    Whoa you also have a wierd lead tape setup.. Never seen anyone do it that way before.. Lol.
     
    #8
  9. EricW

    EricW Professional

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,069
    I've seen it many times.
     
    #9
  10. AJK1

    AJK1 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,219
    After looking at the photo, the top rubber band is illegal, as it is tied to and over the cross string. It can be pushed up and touch it, but it can't be tied to it. P.S. You're two middle strings would be so damped that they probably aren't even working. They need to vibrate to work best, but that is way over the top.
     
    #10
  11. Redflea

    Redflea Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,852
    That's what I meant/thought...

    Jmsx531...get a couple Gamma shockbusters and put them on the racquet. That should take care of all your issues w/out having to have more dampeners than strings... ;)
     
    #11
  12. jdeloach

    jdeloach Professional

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,385
    I believe he is messing with everyone. I don't think he really uses that setup....lol
     
    #12
  13. WhiteSox05CA

    WhiteSox05CA Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,013
    You can have a dampener at the top, AS LONG AS IT DOES NOT ENTER THE CROSS-STRING PATTERN. The one at the top looks as though it is wrapped around the top-most cross string, so I would say that is illegal in something like a USTA match. If that second dampener at the top wasn't wrapped around the cross string then it would be fine.

    It you like the weight at the top, why not just put a couple more strips of lead tape @ 12 o'clock?
    ________
    Washington Medical Marijuana
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2011
    #13
  14. AJK1

    AJK1 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,219
    jmsx521, i think you need to read "technical tennis" to give you a better understanding of racquet customisation and physics and how it affects your racquet. You are making some major blunders there my friend.
     
    #14
  15. freelancer

    freelancer Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    151
    I've been told by many different people that you can have a dampner anywhere on the outsides of the racquet, (most everyone just chooses the bottom area), but that you're only allowed to have one dampener. I wish I could use your set up though, lol. I hate string vibration.
     
    #15
  16. diredesire

    diredesire Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    6,705
    It is technically illegal because it captures the top main string. It's not illegal to have one at the top, though.
     
    #16
  17. jmsx521

    jmsx521 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,496
    It is the Dunlop 200G XL. No, I am not messing with anyone; I do use this set up... I've tested playing with different set-ups too; this one feels best. In the past I even tested using rubber-bands in the 3 and 9 o'clock position too... didn't work out.

    I used to think that Agassi and Roddick tie up the rubber-bands around the crosses too (on the bottom), but I guess I am wrong. So, from now on I'll tie the top and bottom-ones without touching the crosses.

    As far as the lead tape, the strips of tape that are holding it to the frame are duct tape, because the lead tape strips can't stick to the racket well.
     
    #17
  18. dennis1188

    dennis1188 Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    768
    BTW there is no usta regulation against using 'multiple dampeners' only the placement. They r legal.
     
    #18
  19. diredesire

    diredesire Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    6,705
    If you look closely, the top string is tied up inside the rubber band, thus making it illegal, otherwise it is fine.
     
    #19
  20. vinnier6

    vinnier6 Professional

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,378
    your top one is illegal, and agassi and roddick dont tie up on their bottom cross string, just the two middle mains under the bottom most cross, but not too the cross...
     
    #20

Share This Page