Is Turning Your Back Conceding The Point?

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by RetroSpin, Jun 12, 2013.

  1. RetroSpin

    RetroSpin Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,958
    I apologize if this has been discussed previously. Short version, playing mixed tourney, opponent's cupcake wife is about a 2.5 player, I have a sitter and she is three feet away. She turns away and I block ball past her into open court. Her husband runs it down from the baseline and hits a winner and acts like he just won Roland Garros. I could have drilled her or hit a swinging volley right past her head and no way he gets it.

    I am ticked but don't know whether to complain or not. It's a tourney but a club event, so there is a social element to it. Could I have claimed the point on the ground that she conceded by turning? Or should I have just mentioned to him that his wife will look funny with a tennis ball between her eyes?
     
    #1
  2. blakesq

    blakesq Professional

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,319
    Location:
    Connecticut
    turning your back means the player does not want to get hit the face, if you hit the ball into the net, you still lose the point. likewise, if you can't put away the ball, the point continues.


     
    #2
  3. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    Short answer to your question.

    NO
     
    #3
  4. newpball

    newpball Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2013
    Messages:
    5,534
    Location:
    Northern California, USA
    Seriously? :rolleyes:
     
    #4
  5. dcdoorknob

    dcdoorknob Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,576
    Don't think you have a leg to stand on. The point isn't over until the ball bounces twice. The opposing guy had every right to run down your ball and hit it back.

    I refuse the believe that there was no shot available off of a sitter that would have been impossible for the guy to get to and didn't involve pegging the woman with her back turned.
     
    #5
  6. RetroSpin

    RetroSpin Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,958
    Perhaps there was, but I was in the middle of a point and that was the obvious shot. This is why I prefer to avoid mixed. You have to worry about some jerk getting all puffed up that you hit the ball at his wife, while she is camped at the net.

    I'm afraid I misstated the opening question. I appreciate that under the literal rules, the point is not over. I also have played enough high level doubles to know that when the netman turns his back as I'm lining up a sitter, that is a concession and you will get a very hard look or more if you drill him. So it's more of an etiquette question.
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2013
    #6
  7. Velvet Ga el

    Velvet Ga el Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    362
    No, I have no issue with what your opponent did. You had plenty of outs and you chose one that gave him a chance to run after the ball. If a net player turns her back to me in mixed, my default play is a hard angle away from her partner.

    If that isn't an option, I'll hit a drop volley at her feet. This generally means either the ball will brush her knees or lower, with zero pace, or the second bounce will be near her feet. In the former, you win the point without looking like you were trying to take someone out. In the latter, the second bounce will be near her feet and her partner will have no chance to hit it or will concede rather than taking a cut at the ball near her.

    Playing drop volleys is hugely underrated in rec tennis. We have numerous high school doubles players at my club who play social matches with good rec level doubles players, and though they can volley with pace, often those kids can control doubles matches without putting any pace on their volleys just by drop volleying and using sharp angles.
     
    #7
  8. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,095
    Yeah, why did you hit a ball the guy could get to? Play a touch shot to the wife so that the wife is between her partner and the ball. Since he will not run her over to reach it, problem solved.

    Bonus: He might get mad at her for bailing, she might get mad at him for fussing at her. You break up a marriage and get the point. Win Win.
     
    #8
  9. RetroSpin

    RetroSpin Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,958
    I was in a spot right in front of her and close to the ad court alley and moving in a way that a forehand volley at her was the only option. It's not like I had five minutes to go through all the possibilities.

    Lot of macho talk here but I have to wonder how any of you would have reacted if she was your wife and I drilled her from three feet away or hit a screaming volley past her head?

    This is exactly why I try to only play social mixed.
     
    #9
  10. JLyon

    JLyon Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,378
    Location:
    AR
    man it is 5.0 or 6.0 MXD, what is the big deal, just play the ball, it is not social tennis. You got clowned being nice deal with it. No reason to peg her but you could hit it towards her and if she is scurrying back then she loses point.
    Good grief
     
    #10
  11. RetroSpin

    RetroSpin Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,958
    Because then it looks like I am trying to show her up. Lose,lose.

    Still, I will do this next time. It's the best of three unattractive options, ie push a sitter back, hit her or dink her, even though she has turned.
     
    #11
  12. RetroSpin

    RetroSpin Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,958
    It was a club tourney. Sort of half social, half competitive. She was no better than a 2.5. She wasn't scurrying. She was frozen right in my face but did turn.
     
    #12
  13. gameboy

    gameboy Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,620
    Then stick to social mixed and stop whining...
     
    #13
  14. LeeD

    LeeD Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    37,417
    Location:
    East side of San Francisco Bay
    While the female may have conceded the point to you, her male partner did not get the message.
    Have them communicate better.
     
    #14
  15. OrangePower

    OrangePower Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4,086
    Location:
    NorCal Bay Area
    Got to agree. Competitive mixed is an abomination that not everyone is able to handle (myself included).
     
    #15
  16. Velvet Ga el

    Velvet Ga el Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    362
    Why would it look like you were trying to show her up? It's not like we told you to hit a ball between your legs, behind your back, or with your non-dominant hand. Hell, the ultimate shot to show someone up is either to obviously handicap yourself (the examples I posted) or to hit a shot directly at someone that is well above their skill level (a smash, a heavy topspin return at a female 2.5 server, etc.).

    Other than angling it away from him or her, a drop volley is the most gentlemanly shot you can hit at a person who has conceded the point and it's quite common in lower level mixed.
     
    #16
  17. Maui19

    Maui19 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,659
              
     
    #17
  18. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,095
    Seriously, when a player turns away, just keep your eye on the ball and put a no-pace shot into the court.

    Heck, it is a good thing to practice. Act like you are about to blast a crater in the court, make them fear for their lives, then at the last second give the ball a pathetic push. Everyone will laugh. Good times.
     
    #18
  19. darkhorse

    darkhorse Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Messages:
    321
    Isn't the best option in that situation to hit at the net person's feet? That way you get the put-away without drilling somebody in the back. That's what I was always taught
     
    #19
  20. West Coast Ace

    West Coast Ace G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    13,811
    Location:
    So Cal
    OP, no one said you should have tried to give her a new hairstyle. A firm, quick punch volley (in case she was playing possum) down around the ankles - done and done. Won the point, don't have to worry about Mr. Puffed Up coming over the net with bad intentions.

    Came here asking. Don't like the answers, which are more or less unanimous. Got grumpy. Wow.
     
    #20
  21. IA-SteveB

    IA-SteveB Professional

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,089
    Location:
    Iowa
    Amusing how one point can cause that kind of fallout. Tennis.
     
    #21
  22. dcdoorknob

    dcdoorknob Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,576
    Well I think most people would just think "darn, didn't put that one away like I should have", moved on to the next point, and not thought about it again.

    But we all have our quirks.
     
    #22
  23. Mongolmike

    Mongolmike Professional

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    996
    Location:
    Ohio
    I dunno... I was taking a lesson with a club pro (he is 1 full level higher than me) and we were playing out some points. I hit a great drop shot on him that I knew he wasn't going to get... so without any intention of anything I turned and started walking towards the baseline for my next serve as he was scrambling/lunging to get the ball. He did manage (to my surprise) to get a touch on it, but the ball dribbled weakly into the net as I just kept walking to the baseline. Boy, did I hear it from him... in a joking/male banter way... about drop shotting him and then just turning and walking away from the shot.

    The point to the thread is I turned my back to the play... not to concede, but from confidence in my winner... totally different situation... but I was not conceding the point by my actions. (But now I still manage to bring it up in conversation with this guy on different occasions.... it still gets him riled up, so I got that going for me....lol)
     
    #23
  24. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,095
    I don't understand.

    Was he coaching you to always pay attention and be ready to contest the point until it was over?

    Or was he angry because you dissed him by turning your back?
     
    #24
  25. tennis_ocd

    tennis_ocd Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,001
    Straddling the fence between tourney (and the $1 plastic trophy) and social in the middle of points will cause you all types of grief. Need to pick one and enjoy.
     
    #25
  26. Nellie

    Nellie Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,773
    I would have pegged her in the legs and then told her to get off the court next time if she did not like it.
     
    #26
  27. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,095
    I would say "club tourney" = social.

    The reason is that you will see these people in the clubhouse next week. Might not want to get a reputation as That Guy around the club.
     
    #27
  28. RetroSpin

    RetroSpin Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,958
    I'm grumpy because I commented on some answers? I try to be polite to people here. If I wasn't, I apologize. Just trying to have a discussion.
     
    #28
  29. RetroSpin

    RetroSpin Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,958
    Exactly. The Bully Who Hits Women. I can do without that.
     
    #29
  30. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,095
    Right.

    So learn how to place a volley near the conceding player. Easy peasy. Then go have a beer and be The Nice Guy With Great Hands. :)
     
    #30
  31. beernutz

    beernutz Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,430
    Location:
    Make TT better, use the Ignore List!
    This one I don't understand at all. Who is going to think you tried to show her up? I can't believe she would think that after she turned her back to the play, particularly if she has 2.5 skills.
     
    #31
  32. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,095
    He's saying that it can look a bit like a D move to play a cutesy shot to win a point when someone has turned her back when you can play a (fairly) normal one to win the point. Like the receiver who breaks into the open for a TD and decides to showmo walk into the endzone. Just a little showboaty, I guess.

    I don't agree, but that's the idea, I think.
     
    #32
  33. sureshs

    sureshs Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    35,783
    Well, don't play mixed then.
     
    #33
  34. tennis_ocd

    tennis_ocd Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,001
    Blasphemy. The yearly club tourney is on par with a Wimbledon win. 6.0 mixed GOATs are forever immortalized on the clubhouse wall; a wall where you won't find the name Sampras anywhere.
     
    #34
  35. Mongolmike

    Mongolmike Professional

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    996
    Location:
    Ohio

    Wally and Margaret Sampras won the club 7.0 mixed doubles championship in 1981, fyi. They were runner-ups in 1983. I think Margaret had a knee issue in '82.
     
    #35
  36. tennis_ocd

    tennis_ocd Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,001
    To this day Wally bitterly believes the '82 knee tragedy kept them off Tennis Channel's 100 greatest.
     
    #36
  37. TennisCJC

    TennisCJC Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5,540
    Yes, this is the play. If you are a strong player and the player turning their back is 2 or 3 levels lower, maybe you direct it away in a purely social match. A league match, tournament match and even a club tournament match are not a "social" match. A social match is you and your partner call Bob and Suzy for mixed on Thursday afternoon and you'll go out afterward for margaritas and Mexican food. If the results determine anything such as who advances to the next round or who wins the plastic trophy, you punch the ball firmly thru the net players side but try to keep it low so you don't pop them in the nose. If they get mad, tell them "I didn't invite you to the net" which is the line Lendl used after he would hit McEnroe with the ball.
     
    #37
  38. Fearsome Forehand

    Fearsome Forehand Professional

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,186
    Location:
    USA
    In the name of gender equality, drill her in the back. :)

    No good deed goes unpunished. Spike an overhead at her feet or just hit a clean winner into the open court.

    On a match point, a guy on the other team did not back off when we were facing each other at the net. His teammate hit a low forehand right at me that clipped the net cord. The ball popped up right in front of me giving me enough time to take a step to the side and line up a full, looping, forehand drive at chest level. I assumed the guy would move or turn his back; he didn't. I beaned him right between eyes, his glasses went flying off, he dropped to the ground, it was a whole big thing, etc. I felt sort of bad about it but we won the match and it was his fault for not conceding the point IMHO. (I routinely turn my back when my teammate sets me up to be killed by an easy overhead. Not worth it to take one in the eye in a non-pro match.)
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2013
    #38
  39. Mongolmike

    Mongolmike Professional

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    996
    Location:
    Ohio

    And then he divorced her after 26 years of marriage and hooked up with that Wilson chick, who is 14 years younger than him. But she looked good in a tennis skirt!
     
    #39
  40. kylebarendrick

    kylebarendrick Professional

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,042
    Location:
    Northern California
    I've been known to mention in cases like that "I was being nice since your wife turned around. I guess I won't be so nice next time if you're going to chase them down." And from then on I put the ball away in whatever is the most expedient manner.
     
    #40
  41. michael_1265

    michael_1265 Professional

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    I would have tried to hit a nice soft forehand volley, not much more than a dropshot, right at her. As is usual for me, I would underhit it slightly, it would clip the tape and then fall back on my side. Then I would smack myself in the side of the head, and promise never to try to get cute with a shot again. Yea, right.
     
    #41
  42. burosky

    burosky Professional

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,035
    Location:
    CA
    You have played enough high level doubles and you only had a forehand volley at her as your only option?
     
    #42

Share This Page