James Blake's interesting shot

Discussion in 'General Pro Player Discussion' started by rk_sports, Jan 10, 2013.

  1. rk_sports

    rk_sports Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,601
    Location:
    soCal
    #1
  2. Bergboy123

    Bergboy123 Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    643
    Is that .. legal? o_O hahaha
     
    #2
  3. FD3S

    FD3S Professional

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,111
    Yup - it's legal to cross the net to play a shot b/c of wind blowing it back, apparently. Couldn't tell you the exact rule, but I think I saw it in a Tennis magazine mailbag before - if Woodrow pops by, he'd know for sure!
     
    #3
  4. augustobt

    augustobt Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,844
    Location:
    Salvador, Bahia - Brazil
    i thought exactly that oO
    ahhahahaha
     
    #4
  5. MasturB

    MasturB Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,716
    So if the ball crosses the net in the air it's legal so he ran around to play it because even if it bounced on Donald's side it'd be legal? Am I getting that correct?
     
    #5
  6. cluckcluck

    cluckcluck Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,124
    Location:
    Between the baseline and netcord.
    It's the only time you're allowed to cross to the other side. The ball is considered "live" until bounces a second time. In this case, with Blake, the ball went back to Young's side of the court after the first bounce (but before the second bounce). So Blake just had to go around the post and touch it for him to win the point.

    Totally fair and totally legal.
     
    #6
  7. rk_sports

    rk_sports Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,601
    Location:
    soCal
    Interesting... from what I can remember from tennis channel court call video I saw sometime ago, the rule is that you can reach over the net... didn't know that you can actually cross over to the other side :)
     
    #7
  8. IdrinkYourMilkshake

    IdrinkYourMilkshake Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    142
    Is it still legal if Blake puts it in the net on his opponent's side to put it away? Or does it have to hit the opponent's court surface?
     
    #8
  9. always_crosscourt

    always_crosscourt Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    496
    The sport of tennis will eventually become obsolete when strings are able to create so much spin that if you slice a shot, it will bounce back to your side of the net even if it first bounces on your opponents baseline.
     
    #9
  10. rdis10093

    rdis10093 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3,879
    Location:
    states
    it is only legal if you dont step on their side of the court. blake touched the doubles area, not donalds side.
     
    #10
  11. tennis_pro

    tennis_pro G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    16,674
    Location:
    Poland, eating bigos and żeberka
    I saw it live yesterday and was like WTF haha, sober thinking from Blake.

    Seems legal, I think.
     
    #11
  12. Hood_Man

    Hood_Man Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,274
    Location:
    Wales
    I had to watch that a few times to see that it bounces on Blake's side first. Interesting little video that :)
     
    #12
  13. Relinquis

    Relinquis Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    4,336
    Location:
    On the courts; hard & clay ...
    #13
  14. edmondsm

    edmondsm Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,902
    Location:
    In an in between place.
    Idk if that's entirely true. If the ball bounces on your side but is then carried back over the net I believe it's legal to reach over the net to play your shot. Provided you don't touch the net.
     
    #14
  15. PrinceMoron

    PrinceMoron Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,142
    What he should have done is hit it into the other side of the net. Point over. Did that to some ranked juniors before Xmas and they were convinced it was illegal. Can run for ever, but no brain.
     
    #15
  16. kishnabe

    kishnabe G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    17,107
    Location:
    Toronto
    Then ban the stings?....
     
    #16
  17. SwankPeRFection

    SwankPeRFection Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,509
    That's a good question about stepping on any of the lines on the other side of the court (doubles or not). I know you can run past the net post or reach over the net and make a shot count as long as it bounced on your side first, but don't know about stepping on the doubles part if it's singles you're playing. Perhaps since it is singles, the playing area then is only the singles part.

    Technically speaking, he could have jumped over the net, hit the ball and as long as he held air and didn't touch the ground until the second bounce of the ball, it would have still counted... but good luck doing that one. It's not impossible, but you need to hold some serious airtime like Jordan to wait on that second bounce. lol
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2013
    #17
  18. rufus_smith

    rufus_smith Professional

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    883
    Wow ,that is the first time I've seen a player do that "legally".
     
    #18
  19. joeri888

    joeri888 G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    13,123
    Woodrow, could you explain the exact rules regarding reaching over the net and or running around it?
     
    #19
  20. Monsieur_DeLarge

    Monsieur_DeLarge Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    492
    Relevant sections from ITF Rules of Tennis #24 and #25 [source]

    24. PLAYER LOSES POINT
    The point is lost if:

    h. The player hits the ball before it has passed the net

    Case 4: Does a player lose the point if an imaginary line in the extension of the net is crossed before or after hitting the ball?
    Decision: The player does not lose the point in either case provided the player does not touch the opponent’s court.

    Case 5: Is a player allowed to jump over the net into the opponent’s court while the ball is in play?
    Decision: No. The player loses the point.



    25. A GOOD RETURN
    It is a good return if:

    b. After the ball in play has hit the ground within the correct court and has spun or been blown back over the net, the player reaches over the net and plays the ball into the correct court, provided that the player does not break Rule 24; or
    e. The player’s racket passes over the net after hitting the ball on the player’s own side of the net and the ball hits the ground in the correct court



    Regards,
    MDL
     
    #20
  21. sepidoel

    sepidoel Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    296
    Then in Blake's case, is Young allowed to block Blake from reaching the ball inside Young's own court? If he can of course.
     
    #21
  22. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,649
    In singles matches, the only part of the court you can't touch is the opponent's singles court. THerefore, this is legal. Blake only touched the doubles court.
     
    #22

Share This Page