Kids Tournament Question

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by McPatrickClan, Jun 22, 2012.

  1. McPatrickClan

    McPatrickClan New User

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    My 7-year-old son played in his first QuickStart tournament today. He did great! He had a great attitude, played hard in all his matches, despite losing 8-1 (pro set) in his first match, he was very polite, friendly and eager to play again later in the day.

    In one of his later matches, I noticed that a few serves were maybe six inches over the service line and thus, a fault. However, he was hitting them back and playing it. The other player would sometimes be confused and then quit playing, then losing the point! (kind of funny to watch) He explained to me later that he thinks winning points on double faults was boring and that he enjoys actually hitting the ball.

    My understanding is that every shot that lands on his side of the court is his call. He is honor-bound to make a call with integrity and honesty. But if he is calling bad serves good (to his opponent's benefit) in order to get more on-court action, is that technically legal?

    What does the rule book say on this?
     
    #1
  2. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,651
    Well the issue is that a server can't call his own first serve out. Therefore, if your son is hittin obvious out balls back for a winner off of first serves, that is not legal. This could be construed as cheating by other players/parents and a way to steal a free point.

    On the second serve, the server can call his own serve out, so it's not as bad. But your son obviously risks losing the point if he plays it out.

    7 is young and a lot of 7 year olds don't get the rules, or understand what some of them mean, and that's fine. The goal at that age is to keep it fun, development of strokes, consistency and again, fun.

    However, and I would never try to tell someone howi think to teach their kid something, so don't take that that way, but I think i would tell him that it's great that he wants to hit the ball, and it's great that he is giving the benefit of the doubt on close ones, as that is what should happen, but that he should also make the proper call on obvious ones.
     
    #2
  3. Fuji

    Fuji Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6,587


    Hey Woodrow,

    So it's okay to call your 2nd serve out (if it is of course)?

    I was always under the impression that you cannot make a call on your own serve.

    -Fuji
     
    #3
  4. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,651
    Only first serve is illegal for the server to call out. Of course, even then if the receiver misses the return, the server can call the first serve out.

    The intent is so that the returner can't hit a good return or a winner, then the server call the serve out to get a second chance.
     
    #4
  5. Fuji

    Fuji Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6,587
    Ohhh okay! Thanks for the clear up Woodrow. :D

    -Fuji
     
    #5

Share This Page