Legal?

Discussion in 'Odds & Ends' started by jaybear1909, Nov 17, 2011.

  1. jaybear1909

    jaybear1909 Rookie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    354
    Location:
    Georgia
    #1
  2. SFrazeur

    SFrazeur Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,481
    Location:
    Arkansas
    It's legal. Here's why. . . .

    The ball had bounced on Hewitt's side but was arching back over across the net to Federer's side. For Hewitt to win the point he had to reach over the net to play the ball. This is the one exception to the rule of not being able to reach over the net to play the ball.

    -SF
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2011
    #2
  3. rdis10093

    rdis10093 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3,879
    Location:
    states
    hewitt is the best
     
    #3
  4. SFrazeur

    SFrazeur Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,481
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Good? Yes. The best? no. . .

    -SF
     
    #4
  5. Agent Orynge

    Agent Orynge Professional

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,364
    Location:
    Riverside, CA
    He didn't explicitly say what Hewitt is 'the best' at, but it's clear he meant reaching over the net...

    Speaking of Hewitt, where on earth is my buddy Timbo?
     
    #5
  6. jaybear1909

    jaybear1909 Rookie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    354
    Location:
    Georgia
    I guess I totally missed the bouncing on his side first part. I thought he just reached over to get the slam earlier. :shock:
     
    #6

Share This Page