Let ruleing in college tennis!

Discussion in 'College Tennis Talk' started by Boblarryjrthird, Aug 1, 2008.

  1. Boblarryjrthird

    Boblarryjrthird New User

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    MI
    I heard that lets in college tennis dont count as lets and just continue without redoing. Is this true?
     
    #1
  2. Jonny S&V

    Jonny S&V Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    4,892
    Location:
    Northern MO
    Lets on serves in D1 tennis are played and not redone.
     
    #2
  3. djokster

    djokster Professional

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,348
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Same think for World Team Tennis.
     
    #3
  4. 10isDad

    10isDad Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,560
    D1 men's only. Women's tennis still plays lets.
     
    #4
  5. JLyon

    JLyon Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,342
    Location:
    AR
    Only D1 Men play no lets, also NCAA/ITA rules prohibit any point from being replayed, unless it is a let called during a point (ball rolling onto court or dead ball)
     
    #5
  6. autumn_leaf

    autumn_leaf Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,928
    Location:
    Taunton, MA
    wow. didn't know this. so why the difference in rules?
     
    #6
  7. raiden031

    raiden031 Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    5,997
    I heard that the reason they play lets on serves is because of cheating. Players would call lets on serves when they botch the return even if it was a good serve.
     
    #7
  8. Jonny S&V

    Jonny S&V Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    4,892
    Location:
    Northern MO
    Speed up matches. I believe they don't play ad either.
     
    #8
  9. 10isDad

    10isDad Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,560
    Yes the women do play ad.

    The let serve rule went into effect because players getting aced would call lets or, as pointed out earlier, players missing returns would call a let. Since most of the chair umps are in no position to overrule (generally pretty old, not on the line, etc.), it was decided to allow let serves to count as good. The women's serves are not so fast that they can't be judged accurately by the chair ump.

    Personally, I have seen one doubles match and one singles match won on let serve aces that clipped the tape and dribbled over the net. I also saw a match point saved in the same manner.
     
    #9
  10. MegacedU

    MegacedU Professional

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,328
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    This is correct. The men's rule only went into effect a few years ago to my understanding. But women's lets are still re-served.
     
    #10
  11. Joeyg

    Joeyg Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    748
    Location:
    Sarcasm, USA
    This used to be referred to as "The UCLA Rule" in the Pac 10. Draw your own conclusions.
     
    #11
  12. desnj1

    desnj1 New User

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    11 years old

    This rule went into effect in D1 during my freshman year. 1997. I cant even tell you how many points I saw lost because people forgot to play the let.
     
    #12
  13. Boblarryjrthird

    Boblarryjrthird New User

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    MI
    wow thanks for the responces i never really thought about lets in college! Thats funny people forgeting to play lets! lol
     
    #13
  14. slice bh compliment

    slice bh compliment G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    10,032
    Justin Gimelstob was on the UCLA team during the mid-90s, right before that rule was passed in 1997.

    Gimel.

    Any of you ever played a match w/o lets? It's actually pretty fun. I do it sometimes just for fun when I play with the guys who played in college in recent yrs.

    Once, four of us played a set like that in dubs. By the end, one of the guys who hated it came up with the rule that the net man can take the let serve. Pretty cool. I know that's actualy way illegal, but that was the most fun dubs ever.
     
    #14
  15. cmb

    cmb Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    790
    and add brad gilbert to the list of let cheaters in college. He was impossible to ace...it ALWAYS was a let!
     
    #15
  16. dork2tennisstud

    dork2tennisstud Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Actually, in WTT they do allow the net player to return the serve on let-cord serves.
     
    #16
  17. Fedace

    Fedace Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    23,292
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Or maybe he was just a great returner ? He did beat JP macenroe in the masters final. i might actually try this let thing in the playoffs.
     
    #17
  18. cmb

    cmb Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    790
    great returner, great player....and a let cheater
     
    #18
  19. Joeyg

    Joeyg Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    748
    Location:
    Sarcasm, USA
    DR. Fedace with yet another moronic post. I am quite sure he wasn't even alive when Brad was cheating his way through Foothill JC and the Norcal juniors. Perhaps, he should stick to something he is an expert at, like predicting "Standford" results.
     
    #19
  20. SoCal10s

    SoCal10s Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,778
    Brad Gilbert played for Pepperdine and he never played the #1 spot and everyone that knows him then,knew that he cheated and was also the biggest cry-baby ... we used to go out purposely to head hunt for him in the matches....even some of his own team mates didn't like him..
     
    #20
  21. Joeyg

    Joeyg Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    748
    Location:
    Sarcasm, USA
    Fedace, you cheating lowlife. You might actually try this "let thing" in the play-offs? Nice! I hope someone who actually knows you sees this and calls you on it. What a creep!!
     
    #21
  22. jaggy

    jaggy G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Messages:
    12,716
    Location:
    Carrboro, NC
    I saw one where the ball hit the net cord, bounced so high it was hit as an overhead winner by the returner.
     
    #22
  23. 10isDad

    10isDad Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,560
    Like hit the net cord and bounced that high without hitting the ground and returner hits an overheard? I have a very hard time believing that to be legal and can't imagine the chair ump allowing it.

    If the ball hit the net cord, bounced up, hit the ground in the service box, bouncing high enough to hit an overhead, it'd be OK but not the way described in the post.
     
    #23
  24. JLyon

    JLyon Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,342
    Location:
    AR
    I think the way he typed it the official decision would be point to the server as it would be no different than hitting a serve that hits an opponent on the fly.
    In the end though the roll over lets and the sitter lets even out over the course of a match.
     
    #24

Share This Page