Now A Member Of The Backspin-Over-The-Net Club!

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by Cindysphinx, Mar 24, 2011.

  1. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,095
    For the first time in a USTA match, I won a point when my shot landed in the opponent's court and backspun over the net!!

    Indoors, on clay. My shot was a volley, but not a very good one. Definitely caught some frame. It popped up pretty high and landed close to the net as the opponent raced from the baseline up to try to smack a winner. The funky backspin made it head back over to my side of the net.

    Opponent arrived at the ball as it was already on my side of the net but high enough for her to reach. She made a hesitant attempt to play it -- raising her racket and then pulling back -- but chose not to hit it. Point and game to us.

    At the changeover, we all had a good chuckle, but the opponent said something interesting. She said, "I got there, but I realized I couldn't reach onto your side of the net to play the ball. So I was screwed."

    Uh oh. Someone hasn't been watching John Lovitz's Tennis Channel segments on the rules apparently. We explained that this was the one situation where she could have reached across.

    Anyway, has anyone else ever won a point in this fashion? Can I be in the club even though my shot was an accident? :)
     
    #1
  2. mikeler

    mikeler G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    19,855
    Location:
    Central Florida
    Done it a few times. One time it was on mishit serve.
     
    #2
  3. LeeD

    LeeD Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    37,432
    Location:
    East side of San Francisco Bay
    I've done if on backhand drop and stab volleys, never on purpose.
    I've done it on backhand drop attempts, blown because it was too high, and I gave up thinking it was short.
    Hitting that shot on a serve takes real skill.
     
    #3
  4. Rui

    Rui Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    406
    I've overheaded one like that. It was a super miss-hit off the top of the frame. Backspin like crazy. I insisted that the scorekeeper mark it down as a "winner."
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2011
    #4
  5. Maui19

    Maui19 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,659
    Most of my remarkable shots are accidents.
     
    #5
  6. purple-n-gold

    purple-n-gold Professional

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,354
    Location:
    Down East
    wow, small world...playing doubs last night opposition hit one of these, maybe a mishit,windy....I had to reach over the net to barely hit it off the tip of my racket, took a nose dive and spun sideways for a winner! everybody got a good chuckle and my partner called it the ugliest point ever,,,
     
    #6
  7. michael_1265

    michael_1265 Professional

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    I've done it once, on a backhand volley off a hard passing shot. a rare occurrence, for sure.
     
    #7
  8. larry10s

    larry10s Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3,976
    of course you can be in the club:)
    just dont tell anyone it was a mishit:):oops::shock:
     
    #8
  9. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,095
    My partner turned to me and said, "Now that was an ugly [arse] shot."

    How could I argue?

    I think I get extra bonus points because it was indoors, so no wind help! :)
     
    #9
  10. Fuji

    Fuji Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6,598
    That shot is actually in my arsenal! :) I used to practice it a lot, and I can hit it about 80-90 percent of the time. It's pretty fun to watch your opponent run as fast as they can to get it, and it just roll back over to your side!

    -Fuji
     
    #10
  11. Gemini

    Gemini Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,596
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Yep. Twice. Once on a stab backhand volley. Again on a backhand dropshot.

    The dropshot wasn't as spectacular as I was trying to hit a pretty severe shot but the backhand volley was off a blistering passing shot that I was lucky to get a racquet on.
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2011
    #11
  12. OrangePower

    OrangePower Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4,091
    Location:
    NorCal Bay Area
    I had that exact same shot hit against me a few weeks ago. I hit a relatively poor overhead, my opponent got in position to kill the overhead and I was standing behind the baseline trying to get a read on where to anticipate the overhead, and he completely miss-hit it, just like yours. We both had a good laugh about it, but he had the last laugh - he won the point :)
     
    #12
  13. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,095
    That makes you a Platinum member. Me, I'm only at the bronze level.
     
    #13
  14. precision2b

    precision2b Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    626
    Same here...:oops:

    It’s amazing how the frame can create more spin then the strings
     
    #14
  15. Fuji

    Fuji Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6,598
    LOL! It's actually pretty easy to practice off the back hand side. If your ever bored one day just try to put as much backspin as possible with really solid core rotation and a near straight down racket face angle! :) :)

    -Fuji
     
    #15
  16. TNE_Admin

    TNE_Admin New User

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Presented this as a trivia question to the community on our Social Media sites. About 60% of the players got it right. It's probably like a hole in where a lot of people might never see it happen or do it in their tennis playing days.
     
    #16
  17. Sakkijarvi

    Sakkijarvi Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    505
    I sent my doubles partner over the net last week. Really. He is very tall, went for a short ball, kept going, spun around to face the baseline, then dumped over the middle of the net, feet up, head down. Once we confirmed he was not hurt we could all get a good laugh about it.

    Guess he doesn't count --- he didn't bounce back to my side.
     
    #17
  18. Jack the(Forehand)Ripper

    Jack the(Forehand)Ripper New User

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    On match point. Framed overhead and just got blank stares from my opponent. Lost the match on the very next point but it was worth remembering for sure.
     
    #18
  19. Tennis Is Magic

    Tennis Is Magic Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    583
    How could it be on match point if there was only one more point played?

    I did it once when I first started, I didn't know I won the point, but when I learned I did...

    [​IMG]
     
    #19
  20. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,095
    ^Serving at 0-6, 0-5, love 40 would do it.
     
    #20
  21. shake&bake

    shake&bake Rookie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    on a tennis court
    i did it this past weekend in a tournament, it was a fail at a drop shot that went much too high, but landed right over the net and came back. my opponent couldnt make it there :)
     
    #21
  22. Tennis Is Magic

    Tennis Is Magic Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    583
    [​IMG]

    Didn't think of that :D
     
    #22
  23. Jack the(Forehand)Ripper

    Jack the(Forehand)Ripper New User

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Reposting here. And yes, I was down 15-40 2-5 when I hit the shot. Yesterday in my CF match I was up 40-0 5-4 triple match point and my opponent managed to do it on a return. I presented him with the gift of a forehand crosscourt winner on the next point.
     
    #23
  24. catfish

    catfish Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    792
    I did the same thing once. It was during a mixed league match. Of course it happened when the other 2 teams were getting water so they were watching the point. My opponents were friends, so after I hit the shot and won the point I raised my arms triumphantly. Everyone laughed about it the rest of the day and busted on me forever. It was much funnier if you were there.....
     
    #24
  25. oldhacker

    oldhacker Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    410
    I do it quite often and always in the same circumstances. Not a mishit but not deliberate either - a pure reaction shot. It is playing doubles when I am at the net in the ad court and the opposing player at the baseline hits hard and low to try to pass me down the alley. And I hit a full stretch, lunging backhand volley and when it goes over it only just does and has sufficient backspin to bounce back to my side.

    BTW - you are right this is the one time when the opponent is allowed to hit the ball on your side of the net - although they must not also hit or touch the net before the ball has gone dead. Other times ball must be struck on their side of the net although follow through can be over net providing net not touched before the ball has gone dead. Although actually calling and enforcing that in an unofficiated match ....
     
    #25

Share This Page