opponents shot hits the ceiling of indooe tennis court

Discussion in 'Odds & Ends' started by Federerkblade, Jan 19, 2010.

  1. Federerkblade

    Federerkblade Professional

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,126
    question where i know the answer but for clarities sake?

    My opponent hits the ceiling of an indoor tennis court and wants to play two

    I decline and he throws a tantrum.

    IM positive i was right in not playing two and it was my point.
     
    #1
  2. JRstriker12

    JRstriker12 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    3,364
    When the ball hits a permanent fixture (such as the fence, wall, or ceiling) the ball is out and the person who hit the ball loses the point.

    Why would they think they get a let? You don't get a let if you hit the back or side fence.
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2010
    #2
  3. JRstriker12

    JRstriker12 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    3,364
    From the USTA rule book:

    http://www.usta.com/AboutUs/~/media/USTA/Document Assets/2007/02/09/doc_13_16051.ashx

    2. PERMANENT FIXTURES
    The permanent fixtures of the court include the backstops and sidestops,
    the spectators, the stands and seats for spectators, all other fixtures around
    and above the court, the chair umpire, line umpires, net umpire and ball persons
    when in their recognised positions.
    In a singles match played with a doubles net and singles sticks, the net
    posts and the part of the net outside the singles sticks are permanent fixtures
    and are not considered as net posts or part of the net.

    USTA Comment 11.1: Is a point decided when a good shot has
    clearly passed a player, or when an apparently bad shot passes over
    the baseline or sideline? No. A ball is in play until it bounces twice or
    lands outside the court, hits a permanent fixture
    , or hits a player. A ball
    that becomes imbedded in the net is out of play.

    13. BALL TOUCHES A PERMANENT FIXTURE
    If the ball in play touches a permanent fixture after it has hit the correct
    court, the player who hit the ball wins the point. If the ball in play touches a
    permanent fixture before it hits the ground, the player who hit the ball loses
    the point.
     
    #3
  4. Federerkblade

    Federerkblade Professional

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,126
    great

    i knew the answer anyway i just hope the guy feels dumb

    cant belive he wanted to play two
     
    #4

Share This Page