Out before the squash. Shot Spot related.

Discussion in 'General Pro Player Discussion' started by Kobble, Feb 6, 2006.

  1. Kobble

    Kobble Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,365
    I was thinking about when I saw a ball in slow motion hit the ground outside the line first, but squashed enough for the back of the ball to catch the line. How is that in? So, if I get a shot around the net post I should put the ball into a roll, if possible?

    Now, Shot Spot takes the squash into consideration, and many ball have been called in by a mm. You know those balls are really out before the squash. Does the rule state that a ball can catch the line in any manner as long as it is on the first bounce? That would eliminate the roll strategy. Someone clarify this for me.
     
    #1
  2. Rickson

    Rickson G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    12,740
    Location:
    USA
    No way! A ball that rolls in, but lands out initially is out.
     
    #2
  3. JackRabbit

    JackRabbit Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    159
    It is nearly (if not completely) impossible to make the ball bounce off of your racquet and then roll when it hits the court. It will bounce just a little bit at the very least. This makes your point moot.
     
    #3
  4. Max G.

    Max G. Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    4,380
    Well, according to current definitions of "ball landing somewhere" it would be in, I think. Currently, from what I can find in the rules of tennis, is a ball touches the ground within the courts before bouncing up, it is considered in, so the "rolling" thing would technically count as in.

    Maybe. It's really hard to tell, since the rules weren't written with that question in mind...

    However, there are two points to be made here:

    1) It's almost certain to be physically impossible to make a tennis ball do that.
    2) It's certainly NOT within the "spirit" of the rules, and if it became an issue then I'd guess that they'd put in a clause in the rules to deal with it.

    But I think it'll never be an issue, because it's amost certain that a tennis ball will bounce at least a little bit at least once before rolling.
     
    #4
  5. penpal

    penpal Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    302
    FWIW, I'll take a possible 1 mm error over letting a human make a split-second decision on a ball traveling 50-80 mph and landing several yards away.
     
    #5
  6. Shabazza

    Shabazza Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,106
    I've never seen a ball actually roll before bouncing - is that even possible :confused:
     
    #6
  7. matchpoint

    matchpoint Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    220
    The mark of the ball in a single bounce is what should be considered. Since the ball is round everybody knows that the area at the bottom is smaller than the middle part, the ball should be taken as whole as it lands, if any part of it touches the line it should be considered good.

    Although your roll strategy is lacking in common sense and impossible to happen I might give you the point if you can do it.
     
    #7
  8. superman1

    superman1 Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    5,243
    It does roll a bit as well as squash a bit, I believe.
     
    #8
  9. Geezer Guy

    Geezer Guy Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,792
    Location:
    Big Canoe, GA
    The ball IS going to skid and roll a bit, and if any part of the ball touches the line, however briefly, the ball should be considered IN (even if the ball first touches down out of bounds, and then skids in).

    I'd say it would be pretty darn impossible to hit a ball with a racquet in such a way that it doesn't bounce, just rolls.
     
    #9
  10. bigserving

    bigserving Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    612
    Correction, the ball is good.
     
    #10

Share This Page