Question about a rule.

Discussion in 'Tennis Tips/Instruction' started by Bundey, Oct 18, 2007.

  1. Bundey

    Bundey Professional

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,123
    Okay, so the other day I was playing doubles with my friends. I served a hard ball to the ad court, and it was right on the line. Just after the reciever hit the ball, his partner, who was at the net called it out. Of course I stopped play and looked at him. As the recievers ball was floating in the air to the baseline, which it landed on, the person who called it out in the first place said never mind that it was in, and to keep playing. Of course I didn't have time to react to hit the ball back after that hinderance. After that I argued that it should be my teams point, because it is basically cheating. I mean I hit a good serve, the return is a floater and I could have easily put it away. Instead of giving us the point they insisted we should play a let. We did and I ended up double faulting, because I was so angry. I ended up getting broken that game at 30-40.

    I know if this happens in the pro tour, when a line judge calls it out and the chair umpire over rules it, they play a let, no matter if the shot that was called out would have been smacked for a winner. But what if your opponent does this? Doesn't it make since it should be your point?
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2007
    #1
  2. BlahDow

    BlahDow Rookie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    233
    ugh i hate people that do stupid things like..i would have replayed the point...since your serve was originally called out...you can't just say "nevermind" after they return it
     
    #2
  3. Bundey

    Bundey Professional

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,123
    What? Can you please re-type that? I have no clue what you are saying.
     
    #3
  4. BlahDow

    BlahDow Rookie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    233
    bah...i would have replayed the point since the person was unsure about whether your serve went in or out.
     
    #4
  5. Bundey

    Bundey Professional

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,123
    No, they knew the serve was in, or atleast realized it after the he called it.

    Basically my question is, when you hit a shot that is in, but your opponent calls it out, then after that they realize it was in, what should happen.
     
    #5
  6. jasoncho92

    jasoncho92 Professional

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    900
    Its considered a let
     
    #6
  7. Kaptain Karl

    Kaptain Karl Hall Of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    5,236
    Location:
    The High Country of Colorado
    You are to give them the "benefit of the doubt" that it was an honest mistake and play a Let.

    - KK
     
    #7
  8. Rickson

    Rickson G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    12,740
    Location:
    USA
    Street rules: false call so you win the point.

    Non street rules: play a let
     
    #8
  9. Geezer Guy

    Geezer Guy Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,792
    Location:
    Big Canoe, GA
    Tournament rules: call their return out. end of dispute.


    (just joking)
     
    #9
  10. fuzz nation

    fuzz nation Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    8,661
    You've pretty much got to play a let because the returner made a good shot, but the partner wished it a fault a little too much and his call pulled the plug on your 2nd shot. There's a specific address to the problem of waiting to see how the return landed before calling the serve (2nd chance rule?), but I don't remember if it's in the rules or the code. It sounds like the correction in your match happened before the return landed, though.

    That corrected fault should never happen more than once or maybe twice in a match or else the violators should concede the points. Otherwise, you're getting robbed on good serves.
     
    #10
  11. deluxe

    deluxe Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    613
    From The Code

    19. Once an out (meaning a ball has landed outside the court), fault, or let call is made play stops, regardless of what happens thereafter. This policy is sound, though sometimes maddening. For example, with you at the net your partner serves a bullet that the receiver barely gets to the net for an easy setup which you whack away, but the receiver has yelled "fault" as he was returning the service. Inspection reveals that the service was good. You first feel that your putaway shot should count for the point. But suppose that you had missed the putaway. Your immediate cry would have been for a let because the out call distracted you and made you miss. A rule can't work one way one time and work another way another time. It is unfortunate that a miscall was made on such a good service, but you must trust your opponents' intentions to be fair, remember that since they are human they are going to make some mistakes, and realize that since they returned the service a let may be called. The validity of the principle here notwithstanding, most good players who have made a weak giveaway type of return because of an opponent's good forcing shot will give the opponent the point in spite of the out call. The important thing is that a player should not let his ineptitude as a linecaller cause his opponent to fail to win a point that he almost surely would have won had the correct call been made on his forcing shot.
     
    #11
  12. D-man

    D-man Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    752
    LINK : http://www.ushsta.org/PLAYERS/PUBLICAREA/HSTMAG/2002/202rules.htm

    Key Rules for Unofficiated Matches
     
    #12
  13. wihamilton

    wihamilton Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,535
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    haha nice.
     
    #13
  14. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,095
    What is the source for this? I've never seen this in the actual Code.

    The Code provision is below, and the question is whether your opponents shot was a "weak sitter" and who gets to decide whether it was a weak sitter or not. You say the receiver's ball floated to the baseline. I wouldn't call that a weak sitter. I would call it a deep return.

    By the way, is there anything that tells us who gets to decide whether the return was a weak sitter?
     
    #14
  15. drakulie

    drakulie Talk Tennis Guru

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Messages:
    24,466
    Location:
    FT. Lauderdale, Florida
    The voice of reason.


    To the OP, relax! Don't get so angry. :)
     
    #15
  16. psp2

    psp2 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,102
    Based on your description above, a let should have been played.

    Was your partner playing up at the net? Did he/she have an easy chance at hitting the floating return for a volley winner if not distracted by the "out" call?

    Your opponent realized he/she made a wrong OUT call on the serve and corrected it.

    When this happens, one of these actions should take place.

    1. If the returner hits the ball out or into the net (or you ace him/her), then your opponents should really concede the point.

    2. If the returner hits a "weak sitter", then your opponents should concede the point.

    3. If the retuner's ball is good and was anything else but a "weak sitter", then a let should be played.

    IME, a "weak sitter" is any floating ball where a net person or the server has a very high probability of hitting said ball for a clean winner.

    In your description, you wouldn't have a high probability to hit a clean winner from the back of the baseline.


    12. Out calls corrected. If a player mistakenly calls a ball “out” and then
    realizes it was good, the point shall be replayed if the player returned the ball
    within the proper court. Nonetheless, if the player’s return of the ball results
    in a “weak sitter,” the player should give the opponent the point. If the player
    failed to make the return, the opponent wins the point. If the mistake was
    made on the second serve, the server is entitled to two serves.


    In a match last weekend (on clay) my partner served a great 1st serve wide on a deuce point that hit the side line. The receiver (in stretched form) called the serve "out" and hit his return out. I was at the net and had a very good look at the ball, which clipped the line. After the return, I questioned his call and pointed to the mark. The returner realized his error and simply conceded the point.

    If his return was anything but a "weak sitter", we would have played a let (1st serve).
     
    #16

Share This Page