Question about player touching the net

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by tennis4josh, Oct 26, 2012.

  1. tennis4josh

    tennis4josh Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    I was watching a a tight singles match at our club. The match was very tight and went to tie-break in decider set. A serve return floated high and landed just a few inches from the net on the other side. The server sprinted to the net and hit a forehand winner. But he was running too fast and could not stop himself from touching the net and ended up loosing the point.

    What if the ball was already dead (bounced twice) by the time this player touched the net. What is the ruling? Does he loose the point or not?

    Thanks
    -Josh
     
    #1
  2. schmke

    schmke Professional

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,371
    The rule is that you cannot touch the net until the point is over. Once the ball bounces twice, the point is over and the net can be touched. But if the net is touched before the ball bounces twice, even if the shot is a clear winner, the point is lost.
     
    #2
  3. Maui19

    Maui19 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,659
    That's it in a netshell.
     
    #3
  4. JLyon

    JLyon Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,373
    Location:
    AR
    if there are singles sticks as long as the player touches outside the sticks the player is good as well, inside though the same rule applies ball must be dead.
     
    #4

Share This Page