Question on Div 1 Eligibility

Discussion in 'College Tennis Talk' started by Dream_On, Apr 8, 2010.

  1. Dream_On

    Dream_On Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    345
    I know that if you take more than one year off before going to college that you are ineligible for div 1 unless you sit out a year. If you were to go to a div3/naia/jc then transfer to a div 1 after two years would you have to sit out a year or only have one year of elibility then sit out the year after?
     
    #1
  2. renegades10

    renegades10 New User

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    unless the rules changed i believe you are referring to what is known as the five year clock. if you sit out one year that counts as your redshirt year. any years after that count as your eligibility years. so if you took two years off from college you would be a sophomore eligibility wise for sports. no need to sit out another year. this is for d1 only though the others have their own rules.
     
    #2
  3. Larrysümmers

    Larrysümmers Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,995
    Location:
    1313 Mockingbird Lane.
    can you still practice on the team? Or can you not have any involvement with the team at all?
     
    #3
  4. renegades10

    renegades10 New User

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    If you sit out the first year as in don't go to college, you can't practice with the team. If you redshirt, then yes you can practice with the team you just can't participate in any competition. At the academy I work at, we have had several players who try the pro circuit for a year to see if they can make it as well as a few others try to improve enough to get a scholarship to one of the top schools. They do it for a year and then go on to college as freshmen eligibility wise.
     
    #4
  5. Dream_On

    Dream_On Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    345
    No that isnt what I mean, I mean to be eligible for div 1 you get 5 years after attending high school.. The course I am doing is not counted by the ncaa as full time and therefore to them I will have graduated from high school two years ago. I want to know if I go to a junior college, naia or div 3 and then transfer after 2 years.. would I have to sit out my third year and play the fourth or play the third and sit out the fourth or play the third and fourth year or not be able to play at all.
     
    #5
  6. renegades10

    renegades10 New User

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    If you sit out two and then play two years at another school you will have one year left to play D1, no need to sit out a year.
     
    #6
  7. Cross-court

    Cross-court Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    322
    Is there an age limit to play college tennis? If you got out of high school and spent 2 years without going to any college (let's say you were just working), can you still make the team or get a scholarship for tennis if let's say you're a good player?
     
    #7
  8. rosenstar

    rosenstar Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,145
    see my post from another thread:

     
    #8
  9. 10isRocs

    10isRocs Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Can someone tell me if you redshirt for a year, will/can a D1 schools still give you an athletic scholarship? For instance, if you sit out your freshman year and you take 5 years to graduate (and play 4 of those years), will they give you the scholarship for the additional year of school?
     
    #9
  10. andfor

    andfor Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,885
    http://www.ncaa.org/wps/portal/ncaa... and Recruiting/Faqs/eligibility_seasons.html

    Amazing how much can be found by Googling (NCAA Age Limit) a question or going directly to the source. NCAA.org, NAIA.org and NJCAA.org.
     
    #10
  11. 10isRocs

    10isRocs Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Just to clarify, I know what a redshirt is...what I want to know if it is common for/or is a college allowed to give you scholarship money during the year you are redshirt-ed...thus receiving 5 years of scholarship $$?
     
    #11
  12. rosenstar

    rosenstar Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,145
    Yes. You can be on scholarship during your redshirt year. So you can play for 4 years and redshirt for 1 year, and be on scholarship for 5 years. Did that answer your question.

    BTW to my knowledge these rules only apply for DI schools. I don't know the rules for DII, DIII, or NAIA.
     
    #12
  13. 10isRocs

    10isRocs Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Thanks, that is what I wanted to know :)
     
    #13
  14. DartMarcus

    DartMarcus New User

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    I have a question: Is it okay if I have already enrolled in a 4-year college for a couple of months but still come to the us college as a freshman?
     
    #14
  15. andfor

    andfor Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,885
    Sure, what's stopping you? But if you're a 35 year old doctorate student who is a former top 100 ATP player that's another story.
     
    #15
  16. rosenstar

    rosenstar Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,145
    mmm I'm not sure how schools overseas factor into eligibility. If you're a 35 year old doctorate who did their undergrad at an american university, you would have used up all your eligibility. I don't see why it would be any different if you did your undergrad overseas. My guess would be that you would lose your eligibility, just a guess though.

    Edit:
    I might have misread the original question, are you asking if you can attend a 4 year college overseas and then play for an american university?
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2010
    #16
  17. DartMarcus

    DartMarcus New User

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Nope, I mean like I have studied some months in Russian university but then I decided to leave it before the end of semester to go to the US. So that I am coming as freshman not a trasfer student.
    The question actually is if I should mention that I already attended some college for eligibility centre.
     
    #17
  18. rosenstar

    rosenstar Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,145
    ha sorry, I don't know how this applies. Hopefully someone else here can answer your question.
     
    #18
  19. jaggy

    jaggy G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Messages:
    12,744
    Location:
    Carrboro, NC
    Technically if you attend first day of classes anywhere your clock starts whether or not you drop out. Now, they may not find that out if you start somewhere remote.
     
    #19
  20. andfor

    andfor Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,885
    You'll have to disclose all your H.S. and college no matter if you're U.S. born or foreign. It would not also suprise me that you would have to produce a birth certificated as well.

    Go to www.ncaa.org or ask a college coach who where you may be interested in playing.
     
    #20

Share This Page