Quick question on rules for USTA?

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by PrinceAce, Feb 7, 2010.

  1. PrinceAce

    PrinceAce New User

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    So in doubles is there a rule that say player whos not serving on the servers side can't stand on the same side the server is standing on on the T? And is it illegal for the non server to stand behind the server as in behind the baseline?


    [​IMG] Right Sides Serving

    [​IMG] Right Sides Serving again the dot behind the server is his partner.
     
    #1
  2. anantak2k

    anantak2k Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Both are legal as far as I know. The last tennis magazine issue actually called that formation in the second picture the "new double I formation" where the server's partner stands behind them when serving.
     
    #2
  3. JLyon

    JLyon Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,346
    Location:
    AR
    You can not intentionally distract your opponent, but there is no rule on where players must stand. ITA though does have a new rule that the receivers partner can not step into the receivers service box before the ball is put into play.
     
    #3
  4. PrinceAce

    PrinceAce New User

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Both formations are not my own creation I'm not trying to take credit for it it's called "The New I Formation" and "Monster" Formation but could you post the rule for not standing in the the receivers service box?
     
    #4
  5. blakesq

    blakesq Professional

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,319
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Where you position yourself on the court, cannot be considered a distraction.


     
    #5
  6. PatrickB

    PatrickB Rookie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    Note that this is only for ITA (Collegiate) matches:

     
    #6
  7. PatrickB

    PatrickB Rookie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    Nothing in the rules forbids the serving side from using either of these formations.
     
    #7
  8. Geezer Guy

    Geezer Guy Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,792
    Location:
    Big Canoe, GA
    The server has to stand behind the baseline on the appropriate half of the court.

    The other 3 players can stand ANYWHERE they like, on their appropriate sides of the net.
     
    #8
  9. ttbrowne

    ttbrowne Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,622
    It can be. If you stand behind the server and make distracting movements...it can be considered a distraction.
     
    #9
  10. blakesq

    blakesq Professional

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,319
    Location:
    Connecticut
    thats not positioning yourself. that is making distracting movements. if you make distracting movements anyhwere on the court, you are creating a hinderance.

     
    #10
  11. JavierLW

    JavierLW Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,917
    Im not sure what you're trying to say, it's getting lost in the conversation somewhere.

    Are you trying to say that standing behind the server is somehow a hindrance just because it's distracting to you?

    I dont agree if someone was to claim that. There are some people believe it or not who have not seen Australian or I formation before so when you do it to them for the first time, YES, it will be distracting to them.

    Can they call hindrance on that though? (no they cant)

    I agree the hindrance rule is sort of vague and there are things you can do that cross the line and things that one person might find a hindrance and another person may not, but just because something looks different and someone is confused should be different then when someone is purposely doing something that affects their play.

    Because it's not stopping them from seeing the ball and hitting it back and making a play on it, self inflicted mental anguish should not be grounds for hindrance.....

    I think in some cases you can argue hindrance because people engage in activity that makes you see no real positive purpose behind it other then to distract you.

    The returner's partner standing in the middle of the service box seems like one of those. There is no good reason to be there since they are not allowed to hit the ball so it only seems to be to annoy the server. But Im not even sure about that.

    Although Id admit the Tennis Magazine's "NEW I Formation" seems pretty strange and meaningless so I might be obliged to think the same thing.

    Why the heck do that? They should just play two back and cover more court. In the real I formation one player is a huge threat since they are already at the net so you want to avoid them.

    In this one, who cares which one goes to one side or the other? Either way they'll have both sides covered?
     
    #11
  12. PrinceAce

    PrinceAce New User

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Okay well thanks guys my monster formation and new I will continue hope to see some of you at some tournaments
     
    #12
  13. blakesq

    blakesq Professional

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,319
    Location:
    Connecticut
    "Are you trying to say that standing behind the server is somehow a hindrance just because it's distracting to you?"

    No. I am saying that you position wherever you want on your side of the court, and it cannot be a hindrance. However, waiving your arms and stamping your feet is a hindrance, whether you are positioned in a normal place, or behind the server.

    Also, you do not have to a have a "real positive purpose" to position anywhere you like (unless you are the server, and then you are required to stand in a certain area).

     
    #13
  14. JavierLW

    JavierLW Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,917
    Oh okay, I guess you're right about that.

    How about if I just sit on the sideline, on a chair, on my opponent's side (outside of the sidelines) and sip a nice cold drink while my partner beats them single handed on his service game?

    I guess maybe the test is if it's affecting their physical ability to make their shots or not? (including the "affect" of what making sudden movements and noises make on the person who's hitting the ball)
     
    #14
  15. blakesq

    blakesq Professional

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,319
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Technically its probably ok. But it does not comport with "sportsmanship", which of course, is a subjective determination.

     
    #15
  16. OrangePower

    OrangePower Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4,059
    Location:
    NorCal Bay Area
    Ha, that would be funny! But legal, I think. I saw something similar take place during a combo match. 8.5 combo, 5.0 paired with a 3.5. The 5.0 was self-rated and probably more like a 5.5. During the 5.0s service games, he made his 3.5 partner stand inside the alley right at the net. I watched him serve 3 games this way and did not see the 3.5 hit the ball even once!
     
    #16
  17. Geezer Guy

    Geezer Guy Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,792
    Location:
    Big Canoe, GA
    What is your "Monster Formation"?
     
    #17
  18. cknobman

    cknobman Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    6,119
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    You can stand anywhere you want on your side of the net there is no position rule.

    In fact Im thinking of wearing some nut huggers and standing facing my partner and bending over bigtime almost effectively "mooning" the return team. Maybe it will break their concentration and maybe it will give them a target to swing at!!! LOL.
     
    #18
  19. JavierLW

    JavierLW Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,917
    Actually I think you can stand on the other side of the net as well as long as you are not standing on or within the sidelines. (unless I missed the part in the rules that specifically mention "your side of the net")

    Advantage would be:

    - Less likely to get hit with the ball and lose the point, unless they purposely go at you and you are sitting down and you dont want to spill your lemonade so you cant get out of the way....

    Disadvantage would be:

    - You look like a tool.

    - You cant help your partner

    - Your opponents will feel bad as you partner wins a game all by himself. (although if they are jerks that could be an advantage)
     
    #19
  20. PrinceAce

    PrinceAce New User

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    i explained it in my first post.
     
    #20
  21. Geezer Guy

    Geezer Guy Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,792
    Location:
    Big Canoe, GA
    Your first post had two questions and two pictures. Was the picture of the Aussie formation what you meant by Monster?
     
    #21
  22. PrinceAce

    PrinceAce New User

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Its not ausie study the pic and explination within the question closely =]
     
    #22
  23. JavierLW

    JavierLW Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,917
    You're first one is the austrailian formation, perhaps you use another term? (or you're confused with "canadian" or cutthroat which is 1 against 2?)

    Except in a good aussie formation, the server's partner should be a little closer to the center line. It's not as useful or necessary to be that far over to the right. (balls typically pass the net around the center strap)

    The second picture is the silly "New I Formation" which was described in the last TENNIS magazine. Ive never seen it before ever before seeing it there.

    Id have to be honest, (and direct) the fact that you were asking if these were even legal means you're either kidding for some reason, or you are unaware of these formations. (which is probably easy for the 2nd one although hard to believe you thought of it all the sudden when it just came up, unless the tennis magazine people maybe discovered it recently as well)
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2010
    #23
  24. floydcouncil

    floydcouncil Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    692
    You can't stand on the opposite side of the net. You must be on your side OF the net when your partner serves.
     
    #24
  25. Steady Eddy

    Steady Eddy Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,545
    Location:
    Arizona
    Sounds like the Australian Formation.
     
    #25
  26. JavierLW

    JavierLW Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,917
    You're right, I looked it up this time, it's under the "HINDRANCE" section in the ITF rules:

    Case 5: In doubles, where are the server’s partner and receiver’s partner allowed
    to stand?
    Decision: The server’s partner and the receiver’s partner may take any position on
    their own side of the net, inside or outside the court. However, if a player is creating a
    hindrance to the opponent(s), the hindrance rule should be used.


    So apparently you can go across the net during the point, but you have to start on your own side of the net.

    No worry's, you can just sit outside the fence then on your side of the net.
     
    #26
  27. LionsNC

    LionsNC New User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    75
    Glad someone else thought that was Silly, I found it to be one of the stupidist things I ever read in Tennis Magazine and was a little surprise they would even print it.

    I understand that some singles players may not be comfortable at the net, but it drives me crazy if I am serving and my parter wants to play back at the base line. Just a pet peeve of mine.
     
    #27
  28. JavierLW

    JavierLW Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,917
    I agree, it's the silliest thing Ive seen in there as well.

    But Im sure some people will complain about this, but I wasnt all that surprised.

    Ive been seeing issues of Tennis Magazine since the 80's, and it's amazing how some of the stuff gets in there. (weird ideas, contradictory ideas, etc.....)

    But you have to write about something I guess when you put out a monthly magazine like that, they cant just fill the ENTIRE thing with ads. Like I said it must of been a really slow month. :)

    I used to like Tennis Magazine just for the equipment ads, but that was before companys started making websites.
     
    #28

Share This Page