quick rules question - touching the net

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by stapletonj, Sep 18, 2011.

  1. stapletonj

    stapletonj Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Location:
    Lavalette, WV
    we were playing a little o-d with the local pro feeding
    yesterday. My buddy, playing on the other team, ran forward and did the supersharp angle shot that had already bounced once and was clearly unreachable by either me or my partner.....

    but, before it had bounced a 2nd time, he could not keep from pretty much falling over the net. (it was really funny, he's a good 6'5", football tight end type and I think he almost broke the net cord) as we were laughing I said it was our point b/c the ball had not bounced yet......

    the pro at first said that since it was not reachable by us (and clearly it was not) that it was his point even tho' the ball had not bounced twice (nobody disputed that it had not bounced twice). I protested and the pro relented and gaved us the point.

    The sportsman in me dumped the next ball in the net and play continued.

    But......tenchnically.......wasn't I right?
     
    #1
  2. SweetH2O

    SweetH2O Rookie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Location:
    Powder Springs, GA
    You were right.
     
    #2
  3. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,095
    Yes, you were right.

    If he had stopped in time to avoid touching the net, he may have missed his shot completely or not hit such a great one. IMHO.

    Why why why do so many pros not know the rules of the sport they are teaching?
     
    #3
  4. stapletonj

    stapletonj Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Location:
    Lavalette, WV
    he might have known, he used to teach at a major place in FL. There is a lot of good natured hooking and funny rules that get bantered about in our clinics....
     
    #4
  5. corbind

    corbind Professional

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,308
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    He knew he lost the point. Even ten-year-olds know you lose if you touch the net before the ball is dead.
     
    #5
  6. stapletonj

    stapletonj Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Location:
    Lavalette, WV
    haven't seen that happen in years and darned if it didn't happen again today for the 2nd time!
     
    #6
  7. Caesar

    Caesar Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    765
    Of course he knew the rules. He was just trying to give someone credit for a great get, in a meaningless friendly hit-around.
     
    #7
  8. Fuji

    Fuji Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6,597
    Yep! You for sure won the point fair and square!

    I did a rookie mistake a few matches ago near the same thing. I hit a "dunk smash" overhead, in singles, and cleared the net by jumping it. I "dropped the ball", as I wasn't thinking. I lost the point obviously! ;)

    -Fuji
     
    #8
  9. Lefty

    Lefty New User

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    To take this one step further:

    Suppose it was really close as to whether the ball bounced a second time before the player touched the net. Whose call is it as to which occurred first?

    It's tricky because it's two separate events occurring almost instantaneously in different parts of the court.
     
    #9
  10. Tar Heel Tennis

    Tar Heel Tennis Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    729
    Location:
    North Carolina
    The player that touches the net makes the call.
     
    #10
  11. Tammo

    Tammo Banned

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    3,875
    It was your point. I remember I hit a dropshot, and my opponent hit a lob, but touched the net. He argued that it was his point, but hey, some people just cheat.
     
    #11

Share This Page