Rained out final - do the finalists get credited with a win or runnerup?

Discussion in 'General Pro Player Discussion' started by timnz, Dec 14, 2011.

  1. timnz

    timnz Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    4,443
    I was looking on Wikipedia (yes, I know it can be unreliable) at Jimmy Connors entry and Vilas' entry. The 1981 Monte Carlo final was rained out. Jimmy Connors entry had that listed as a win under 'Grand Prix Championship Series finals', whereas Vilas doesn't list this as a win.

    What is the official rules in terms of title recognition. If a player reaches the final and the final is called off due to conditions - are both players credited with a win or both credited with runner-up. The obvious and sensible thing would be the latter - however, what is the official position?

    I can also think of Lendl and McEnroe in 1987 being halfway through a called off final.
     
    #1
  2. Mustard

    Mustard Talk Tennis Guru

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    25,047
    Location:
    Cwmbran, Wales
    No winner and no champion were the rules then. I think they are still the rules, unless there's indoor courts like they used in Nottingham in the past.
     
    #2
  3. Sentinel

    Sentinel Talk Tennis Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    28,744
    Location:
    Brave New World
    I thought the defending champion was given the title. ????
     
    #3
  4. jokinla

    jokinla Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,705
    Since it was Monte Carlo, by default it went to Rafa.
     
    #4
  5. MG1

    MG1 Professional

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    984
    Check on ATP site !!
     
    #5

Share This Page