Ridiculous at wimbledon: Lucky loser should in nadals place.

Discussion in 'General Pro Player Discussion' started by obsessedtennisfandisorder, Jun 25, 2009.

  1. obsessedtennisfandisorder

    obsessedtennisfandisorder Professional

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    941
    Location:
    korea but NZer
    Don't get it at all....

    the draw is a complete mess...where there should be nadal or a lucky loser,

    there is now delpotro...very strange...

    Any other tournament in the world would put a lucky loser from qualifying
    in nadal's place and leave the rest of the draw...

    eg sampras pullout from 1999 USopen or other tourny examples.

    Now i look at the draw and novak has unbelievably easy road to semis.
    ( i like novak, this is no diss on him)..

    Why does wimby think it can do what it likes.

    Ridiculous really
     
    #1
  2. angharad

    angharad Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    498
    In the 2006 Grand Slam Rulebook:

    http://www.itftennis.com/shared/medialibrary/pdf/original/IO_18858_original.PDF A PDF, the above quote is found on page 23.

    Wimbledon amends it a bit for the top 4 seeds, moving the 5th seed into the open position before moving the 17th seed. This rule has obviously been in place for at least a few years now, and is recognized by all 4 Slams.
     
    #2
  3. CHOcobo

    CHOcobo Professional

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,236
    Location:
    MN
    rules are rules. life goes on.
     
    #3
  4. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    It's not just Wimbledon. The rules changed. Here is from the 2009 Grand Slam Rulebook.

    Any vacancy created by the withdrawal of a seed prior to the
    release of the Order of Play for the first day of Main Draw shall
    be filled as follows:
    - If the withdrawal is among seeds 1 to 4, the 5
    th seed is
    moved into then open position, the 5
    th position shall be filled
    by the 17
    th seed, and the 17th position shall be filled by the
    next highest ranked player eligible to be seeded.
    - If the withdrawal is among seeds 5 to 16, the 17
    th seed is
    moved into the open position and the 17
    th position shall be
    filled by the next highest ranked player eligible to be
    seeded.
    - If the withdrawal is among seeds 17 to 32 it shall be filled
    by the next highest ranked player eligible to be seeded.
    The position vacated by that next highest ranked player shall
    then be filled by the next player on the original entry list if prior
    to the commencement of the Qualifying competition or by the
    eligible Lucky Loser if after the commencement of the
    Qualifying competition.

     
    #4
  5. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    If the vacancy had occured after Monday's order of play was released, then the LL would have gone into Nadal's spot.
     
    #5
  6. angharad

    angharad Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    498
    Good to know - I wasn't able to find the most up-to-date rulebook, so I wasn't sure if it was just Wimbledon or not. Thanks. :)
     
    #6

Share This Page