Rude to Return Out Service Ball to Server Especially When It's Obviously a Fault?

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by USS Tang, Mar 2, 2013.

  1. OrangePower

    OrangePower Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4,073
    Location:
    NorCal Bay Area
    On the BH side, the technique I use is similar to hitting a drop volley with underspin. I use one hand like I do for volleying (although my regular BH is 2h); soften the wrist to take the pace off and slice under the ball. The result is that the ball plops down maybe 3-4 feet in front of me, and then on the bounce the underspin brings it back to me so I can catch and pocket it.

    On the FH side it's easier, as I can direct the ball straight down so that it bounces right into my hand.
     
  2. rufus_smith

    rufus_smith Professional

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    887
    Oh yeah I see now. For some reason I thought people were catching it with a hand which can be done during a warmup but I don't recommend that because it can hurt. :)
     
  3. Tennisguy3000

    Tennisguy3000 Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    471
    Ok... I need to try a little harder to keep the ball & not bunt back. I usually let my doubles partner call long serves & am swinging and focusing on the ball when I hear " Out".

    I did I have a server request I not return last week but still did it by habit often followed by a "Sorry". Change will come.

    Good story btw
     
  4. equinox

    equinox Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3,223
    Location:
    Cocos Islands, WA
    Fine, by time your mind has clicked serve is definitely going out, you're already started your receiving motion. Better to swing than get stupidly aced by a fast dropping kick serve.

    I'd only consider returning outs gamesmanship if they were aimed at the doubles partners head.
     
  5. kylebarendrick

    kylebarendrick Professional

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,042
    Location:
    Northern California
    This rule refers to "obviously out" balls. A hard flat serve that lands a foot out? Nobody is going to complain that you didn't stop your swing. A ball that hits the tape bounces up and eventually and lands 10 feet out? No need to return that one.
     
  6. Fintft

    Fintft Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,725

    I agree, although it's not a big deal.
     

Share This Page