Rule about Players switching sides within Doubles match

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by rk_sports, Apr 9, 2009.

  1. rk_sports

    rk_sports Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,627
    Location:
    soCal
    Can the players switch sides in different sets of the same match?

    Say Player A played Ad court & Player B played Deuce court when match started... now in set # 2, can they switch as...Player A play Deuce court & Player B play Ad court?

    Thanks!
     
    #1
  2. hammer

    hammer Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    Yes, when you start a new set, you can switch sides with your doubles partner.
     
    #2
  3. rk_sports

    rk_sports Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,627
    Location:
    soCal
    Thanks!

    A friend pointed me to the rule book --

    USTA Comment 15.2: May a doubles team switch its receiving
    order at the beginning of any set or Match Tiebreak? Yes. There is no
    requirement that any doubles team retain the same receiving order
    for a new set or Match Tiebreak.
     
    #3
  4. raiden031

    raiden031 Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    5,997
    I didn't think you could switch on a 12-point set tiebreak.
     
    #4
  5. Nellie

    Nellie Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,773
    I think the 12 point tie-break, at the end of the set at 6 all is considered to be part of the set (a thirtheenth game)

    a super tie-break 3rd set (USTA first to 10) is a new set.
     
    #5
  6. spiderman123

    spiderman123 Professional

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    843
    You cannot switch for a set-tiebreak.

    You can switch for a match tiebreak.
     
    #6
  7. raiden031

    raiden031 Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    5,997
    The USTA quote the one person posted would say otherwise.

    EDIT: Never mind, they said "new set OR match tiebreak", which I took as "new set [tiebreak] OR match tiebreak"
     
    #7
  8. blakesq

    blakesq Professional

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,319
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Yes. And in the middle of a set, as soon as the a person on your side hits the ball, you can switch sides.

     
    #8
  9. larry10s

    larry10s Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3,976
    ^^^^^^^ very good
     
    #9

Share This Page