Rule about the netplayer in doubles

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by Ruud, Mar 27, 2009.

  1. Ruud

    Ruud Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    170
    I was playing doubles against some friends. When one of them was serving the man that was standing at the net positioned himself at the same side as the server. So when he was serving from the right at 40 - 40 the man at the net was also standing on the right site of the court at the net. Is this legal?

    I hope it is al little bit clear.

    PS i had no problems with this (it was just for fun) otherwise i woud have smacked him wright between the eyes hahaha.
     
    #1
  2. spt

    spt Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    126
    yes it is legal - it even has a name. It is called Australian doubles because it was formation popularized by, you guessed it - the Australians. Some of the top teams play this occasionally.
     
    #2
  3. Atown

    Atown Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    State College, PA
    Yes, it is legal; see Rule 26, Case 5:

    Case 5: In doubles, where are the server’s partner and receiver’s partner allowed to stand?

    Decision: The server’s partner and the receiver’s partner may take any position on their own side of the net, inside or outside the court. However, if a player is creating a hindrance to the opponent(s), the hindrance rule should be used.
     
    #3
  4. Ruud

    Ruud Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    170
    Thanks, i knew about the australian formation but i did not know that is was legal to totally stand on same side as the server.

    But now it is clear thanks.
     
    #4
  5. blakesq

    blakesq Professional

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,319
    Location:
    Connecticut
    What does "However, if a player is creating a hindrance to the opponent(s), the hindrance rule should be used" actually mean? For instance, if you are playing the standard Australian Doubles position, and the opponents claim its hindering them, can they make you move to the standard doubles position?

    And, if that is the case, what if opponents claim that the net man on the serving side is standing too close to the net, can they claim a hinderance on that, and make the net man move back to where they feel "unhindered'?


     
    #5
  6. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    In this case, hindrance would refer to something like the net man waving his arms up in the air, or jumping up and down. Something deliberately done for the sole purpose of distracting the opponent.

    Some people will say that just standing there is done to distract the opponent, however the phrasing of the server and receiver's partner may take any position on their side of the net takes that argument away.
     
    #6
  7. Geezer Guy

    Geezer Guy Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,792
    Location:
    Big Canoe, GA
    Good point. And what if the server is serving too hard? Call a hinderance on that as well.
     
    #7
  8. Geezer Guy

    Geezer Guy Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,792
    Location:
    Big Canoe, GA
    The servers partner, the returner, and the returners partner can ALL stand ANYWHERE on their side of the net that they want to.
    The server is the only one that has a defined area from which he must start the point. (I know YOU know that - just trying to make it abundantly clear.)
     
    #8
  9. jefferson

    jefferson Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    658
    This is totally legal. No hinderance...
    Sounds like the line is wide open.
     
    #9
  10. tennisdad65

    tennisdad65 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,994
    Location:
    somewhere in calif
    I am trying to visualize the situation where the returners partner stands on the opposite court within the service line :)

    i.e. directly in the path of the serve. That would be distracting to the returner and put himself at injury risk, but could be very distracting to the server too..
     
    #10
  11. Geezer Guy

    Geezer Guy Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,792
    Location:
    Big Canoe, GA
    I don't think it would really be that distracting to most "seasoned" players.
    They'ed probably just aim their serve at the guy standing in the box.
     
    #11
  12. spot

    spot Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,438
    Location:
    Atlanta
    In a mixed doubles match earlier this season when the woman was serving from the deuce side her partner was standing to her right. It was australian but with both players at the baseline. I couldn't believe it and it had us cracking up. The guy they were serving to had a WICKED crosscourt return that the girl had no chance at. The guy had no chance at it while he was at the net either. So he came back to the baseline. Of course they still had no chance- there was too much of the court open, the girls serve just wasn't strong enough to give the guy they were playing any problems but I actually thought it was sort of creative and I doubt it would have ever crossed my mind.
     
    #12

Share This Page