rule call?

Discussion in 'Junior League & Tournament Talk' started by Larrysümmers, Sep 26, 2009.

  1. Larrysümmers

    Larrysümmers Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,995
    Location:
    1313 Mockingbird Lane.
    ok, so we were playing at a court that a wire hung above the back of the baseline. And fairly high too. So we were playing and the other person miss hit it and it was flying out so I stopped and watched the fence so I could catch it right when it bounced off so I wouldnt have to run after it
    but the ball hit the wire and hit my racquet.
    We decided to replay the point, but what should the real calling be?
     
    #1
  2. jrod

    jrod Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566
    I believe the point was over as soon as the ball hit the wire. If the ball bounced inside the court (1x) on your side before hitting the wire, your opponent wins the point. If it hit the wire first, it's your point.
     
    #2
  3. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    Correct. It was your point.
     
    #3
  4. Larrysümmers

    Larrysümmers Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,995
    Location:
    1313 Mockingbird Lane.
    ok thanks. I didnt mind since it was just a friendly. But its nice to know so during the season I will be sure that I can claim the point.
     
    #4

Share This Page