Rule question (serving)

Discussion in 'Tennis Tips/Instruction' started by John Dark, Jun 15, 2005.

  1. John Dark

    John Dark Guest

    Hi. I need to who begins serving the next set after a set is finished. Does it alternate from who served the first game of the last set? Or does it alternate from who served the last game of the last set?
     
    #1
  2. Return_Ace

    Return_Ace Professional

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,267
    who didn't serve the last game
     
    #2
  3. kevhen

    kevhen Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    4,405
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Alternates away from the person who served the first point of the last game, so if you served the last game or the first point of the tiebreak, your opponent will serve the first game in the next set.
     
    #3
  4. gifted_shotmaker

    gifted_shotmaker Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    407
    yeah, kevhen is right. basically, it alternates from who served the last game of the last set.
     
    #4
  5. Rickson

    Rickson G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    12,740
    Location:
    USA
    The last person to serve in the previous set becomes the receiver in the first game of the new set.
     
    #5
  6. Rabbit

    Rabbit G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    12,606
    Location:
    at the bottom of every hill I come to
    This is not true if the two combatants are involved in a tiebreak. The more accurate answer is whoever serves the first point of the last game in the last set becomes the receiver in the first game of the next set.
     
    #6
  7. Rickson

    Rickson G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    12,740
    Location:
    USA
    This was a general question and I gave a general answer, but it's good that you cleared it up for the new poster, Rabbit.
     
    #7
  8. John Dark

    John Dark Guest

    Cool. Thanks, everyone.
     
    #8

Share This Page