Rule Question

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by Lendl, May 15, 2012.

  1. Lendl

    Lendl Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    519
    I've never seen this come up. In a USTA tourney a friend serves and hits the net for a let chord and the ball travels in the air to the returner and he catches it in the air. What is the call?

    A. Server's point
    B. Let, first serve
    C. Fault, second serve
     
    #1
  2. BHiC

    BHiC Rookie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    308
    Location:
    USA
    Pretty sure it is B, but I am not positive. It is definitely not C.
     
    #2
  3. OrangePower

    OrangePower Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4,058
    Location:
    NorCal Bay Area
    Let, first serve. Since the ball touched a player before bouncing, it is considered in. Prior to that, it hit the net. Therefore, it is a let.
     
    #3
  4. esgee48

    esgee48 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,358
    Location:
    SF, CA
    Serve is a let as soon as it hits the net. The point has not started yet, so the player can catch it. OTOH, if the serve hits the player on the fly, then the server has won the point.
     
    #4
  5. jonnyjack

    jonnyjack Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    381
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Source: http://assets.usta.com/assets/1/15/2012 FRIEND AT COURT.pdf

     
    #5
  6. blakesq

    blakesq Professional

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,319
    Location:
    Connecticut
    the server only wins the point only if the ball does NOT hit the net cord before hitting opposing player.

     
    #6
  7. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    B, assuming it was a first serve that was hit.
     
    #7
  8. storypeddler

    storypeddler Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    565
    Location:
    Hickory, NC
    It is B. Let, first serve. Because it hit the net before it was caught, it is a let. Had the receiver simply caught it on the fly as it was heading toward the fence, it would have been server's point.
     
    #8
  9. hcelizondo

    hcelizondo New User

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    Mexico
    B is the correct answer
     
    #9

Share This Page