Rules about doubles partners switching order of service?

Discussion in 'Tennis Tips/Instruction' started by coach, May 16, 2006.

  1. coach

    coach Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Hi y'all,

    I just read through the 43 rules of "The Code" and just wanted some clarification since it wasn't specifically addressed in The Code. If AFTER the first set, when both my partner and I served, in starting the new set, could the stronger server of the two then serve again, even if it was the other partners turn to serve? I believe this is true though again I couldn't find it in The Code. Thanks.
     
    #1
  2. ATXtennisaddict

    ATXtennisaddict Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,278
    After each set,anyone can start serving the new set.
     
    #2
  3. kevhen

    kevhen Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    4,405
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Yep, anyone can serve first at the start of a new set and you can switch return sides with your partner too.
     
    #3

Share This Page