Rules for carrying and touching the ball twice

Discussion in 'Tennis Tips/Instruction' started by Layman, Jun 7, 2010.

  1. Layman

    Layman New User

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    I quite often hit the ball twice (unintentionally) when I go to the net. I thought I should lose the point right away, but I searched the rules in ITF and found this:
    The point is lost if:
    f. The player deliberately carries or catches the ball in play on the racket or
    deliberately touches it with the racket more than once;

    So, is it okay if I carry or touch more than once not deliberately?
    Thanks
     
    #1
  2. GetBetterer

    GetBetterer Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,648
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    It's perfectly fine. I've had that mistake happen to me a few times as well.

    Deliberately is if they like stopped the ball from bouncing once with their racket, let it bounce, and hit it. It's as obvious as a foot fault. You're fine. Although the umpires may get peculiar if you do it a lot.
     
    #2
  3. BullDogTennis

    BullDogTennis Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,217
    Location:
    Big Orange Nation
    the best way to think about it is, if it is ONE continuous swing, and it bounces around like off the frame, then the string bed, its okay.
     
    #3
  4. Layman

    Layman New User

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    That's good news! I did that double-touch in the match point againt a friend to whom I almost always lose... we use to accept foot-faults and similar stuff, but it's nice to know my victory was official ;)
     
    #4
  5. torre_dresen

    torre_dresen Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    That is how I've learned it as well. When you hit the ball in one smooth movement, and touch it twice, there is no problem. (often the case when you hit the frame). But actually, it don't see how it is possible with a volley? I think you probably didn't touch it twice on purpose, but not in one smooth movement? Like mis-hitting the ball first and and automatic reaction of a adjustment of movement? I don't think that is allowed.

    Greets
    Torre
     
    #5
  6. Layman

    Layman New User

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Certainly I didn't choose the orthodox strike. All I know is that the ball was pretty slow, I could do a full swing like if I were on the baseline.
     
    #6
  7. supineAnimation

    supineAnimation Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,526
    I think the rule says something to the effect that it is acceptable as long as it occurs in the path of a single swing. So, in other words, if you were to tap the ball up in the air with one motion and then slam it down with another, that would be illegal. But if you swing and the ball ends up contacting the strings at multiple and distinct instances during that single motion, that is fine.
     
    #7

Share This Page