Rules Q

Discussion in 'Tennis Tips/Instruction' started by jonnythan, Jul 28, 2009.

  1. jonnythan

    jonnythan Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,356
    If a ball hits you in the face and bounces back over the net for a winner, I assume that doesn't count as a point :)
     
    #1
  2. pvaudio

    pvaudio Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    7,543
    Aside from actively changing the trajectory of the incoming shot, as in cupping the ball with the racquet or catching it with your hand, I'm pretty sure you're allowed to use anything to get the ball back over. The only reason you i dunno, might NOT want to do this is that getting hit in the face with a flat forehand shot is a bit less appealing than just hitting a drop volley.
     
    #2
  3. plowmanjoe

    plowmanjoe Rookie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    343
    that's wrong. you have to use your racquet, you cannot use your face.
     
    #3
  4. jonnythan

    jonnythan Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,356
    That's too bad. It was a pretty nice 'shot' ;)
     
    #4
  5. pvaudio

    pvaudio Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    7,543
    Heh, learn new things every day. It goes two ways I guess: you can't make contact with your body, but you can't make contact with the racquet when it's not touching your body ala Marat Safin's thrown racquet drop volley at the USO a few years ago lol
     
    #5
  6. Double bagel

    Double bagel Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    I hit dude in the groin with a volley tonight and I feel bad about it...and..err...no it didn't come back over the net...

    Hey, my hero was Lendl...
     
    #6

Share This Page