Rules question about service call

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by beernutz, Aug 15, 2012.

  1. beernutz

    beernutz Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,414
    Location:
    expanding my Ignore List
    Say you are playing doubles and receiving serve and your partner calls a serve out but you clearly see it hit the line. My understanding is that your only option is to immediately forfeit the point to the server even if you can make a play on the ball. Am I correct?
     
    #1
  2. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,070
    Yes, you are correct.

    Then you should have a conversation about who is calling what line.

    If my partner is calling the middle and sideline when I am receiving, I am going to tell her to stop.

    And if she is overruling my call on the service line when she is receiving, I am going to tell her to stop or tell her she needs to call all the lines when she is receiving.

    I am not a fan of losing points due to partner disagreement when one person clearly has the better vantage point.
     
    #2
  3. Tar Heel Tennis

    Tar Heel Tennis Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    729
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Yes. Your honesty is appreciated and an asset to the game!
     
    #3
  4. LuckyR

    LuckyR Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    6,404
    Location:
    The Great NW
    Yes, as others have noted. The controversy is the opposite issue. Your partner thinks the ball is in and you did not see it "out".

    If you are playing singles and you don't see it "out", it must be called "in".

    In doubles, someone needs to see it "in", the other partner does not have to see the ball at all.
     
    #4
  5. beernutz

    beernutz Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,414
    Location:
    expanding my Ignore List
    Well that is what happened in this case. I overruled the out call my partner made on the service line even though I had an easy return shot. My partner had positioned himself well inside the other service box and was turning his head around awkwardly to see and call the lines and just missed a call on a serve that hit right on the line. It was a really weak serve, which made my call easy, that I was planning to aggressively return but I believed my hands were tied as to my options.

    I conceded the point, quietly told my partner the ball hit the line, and gently suggested that he might have a better vantage point from somewhere behind the service line.
     
    #5
  6. beernutz

    beernutz Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,414
    Location:
    expanding my Ignore List
    I'm not quite sure I agree here. I always assume that someone has to see a ball "out" because otherwise everything is assumed to be "in". I agree that if a player does see and call a ball out, his/her partner does not have to confirm the call for it to hold up. If the other player however sees the ball as in though that is another story entirely.
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2012
    #6
  7. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    Yes someone has to see it "out" in order to call it out. But what LuckyR is saying (I think) is that if one player calls it "out" because they see it "out", and then the partner is asked and he is unsure, it doesn't mean that they disagree on the call and should be ruled "in". In order for it to be overruled, the partner would need to have seen it "in".
     
    #7
  8. beernutz

    beernutz Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,414
    Location:
    expanding my Ignore List
    Yes, it is probably just that I'm misinterpreting what LuckyR meant. I completely agree with your description of how such calls should be handled so if that's what he meant, we all agree.
     
    #8
  9. Baxter

    Baxter Professional

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,309
    Location:
    Colorado
    There is a long, very recent thread on this. If one person sees it in but the other called it out, the opponents win the point (unless you're playing with teflon tom). End of story.
     
    #9
  10. NTRPolice

    NTRPolice Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    515
    I had to read this several times.

    I actually dont know, but I know this isnt a "take two" situation. I do believe that if you see it hit the line, and you actually call it good, then you would lose the point. But...

    It might be possible that if the ball is 6 inches long, but you blast a winner, then your partner calls it out, you can reverse the call and claim the winner off that serve. I'm not sure, but I thought there was some loophole like that. I know it had something to do with reversing a serve call or something, but only when its in your favor abusing the rule of if theres contradiction between line calls of partners that the ball is considered good.

    If... you see it hit the line and you dont say anything, but your partner calls it out, the ball is out. You do not have to agree with the out call, but if you want it to stand, you cant openly contradict it either.

    I'm actually very curious about this now haha.

    But, my first instinct is probably what id go with and I dont think this is a let situation.
     
    #10
  11. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,653
    LOL. What? Uh. No.
     
    #11
  12. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,070
    NTRPolice,

    The rule used to be that you could play a let if you put the ball into play. That is no longer the rule. Now if a call is reversed, it is loss of point regardless of whether you put the ball back into play.
     
    #12
  13. North

    North Professional

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    937
    Woodrow - If the partner is unsure, does that mean they just did not see it at all (eg: not even looking in that direction) or they were looking and trying to see the ball but aren't sure if it was in or out? Seems like that would be 2 different things and I'm not sure which is meant.
     
    #13
  14. LuckyR

    LuckyR Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    6,404
    Location:
    The Great NW
    Woodrow is correct in his understanding of my original meaning. This post is germane to it also. To me you either got a good look at the ball or you didn't, so in my interpretation getting apoor look is equivalent and no look at all. Your opinion is immaterial IF your partner got a better look.

    As I menioned before, in singles this means the ball is "in". In doubles, your partner's call stands.
     
    #14
  15. North

    North Professional

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    937
    That's what it sounded like & it probably makes sense for the player who got a good look and is 100% sure to make the call for the team. In practice, though, I have noticed a certain hostility towards the partner who says "I didn't get a good look at it" - lol - and defers to the partner who saw it clearly.
     
    #15

Share This Page