Rules Question: Ball stuck in the net.

Discussion in 'Tennis Tips/Instruction' started by chlsmo, May 7, 2007.

  1. chlsmo

    chlsmo Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    521
    Location:
    So. Cal
    First serve stuck in the net. We played it as a let, but is there some kind of permanent fixture rule that applies here or something? This is the second time this has happened to me inside of a week. Help is appreciated, thanks!
     
    #1
  2. forzainter

    forzainter Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    764
    Location:
    Scotland
    i would probably say 2nd serve, i dont think its a let.
     
    #2
  3. ShcMad

    ShcMad Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,540
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    I agree. Even if the ball goes through the net and lands in the service box, it's still considered fault. At one pro match (can't remember who played), the ball went through the net during the serve and into the service box. But, the umpire saw that and said something like "Ball went through the net. Second serve."
     
    #3
  4. SlapShot

    SlapShot Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,423
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    If it's stuck in the net, it's a fault. Just like hitting the net is a fault.
     
    #4
  5. chlsmo

    chlsmo Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    521
    Location:
    So. Cal
    ok cool, i just figured if it never bounced... but ok next time second serve it will be.
     
    #5
  6. Shura

    Shura Guest

    It's a fault. To be IN, gotta pass OVER the net, without touching it, and land IN the service box ;)
     
    #6
  7. Taxvictim

    Taxvictim Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    501
    Location:
    Wake County, NC
    Agree with all above, but your opponent might allow a let due to the hindrance of removing the ball from the net. Anytime you are unduly interrupted or delayed between your first and second serves by something that is not your fault, you might get a let.
     
    #7
  8. psp2

    psp2 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,102
    Why would a receiving player/team grant a let due to the server's fault? The server made a service fault. The ball is removed by the server. 2nd serve is correct.
     
    #8
  9. lethalfang

    lethalfang Professional

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,420
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    I did that once when I was warming up my serves. My opponent and I were quite amused, but neither of us knew what the rule was on that.
     
    #9
  10. papa

    papa Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    4,071
    Hitting the net is not a fault, it a "net". In this case its also a "fault".

    As most know if it hits the net and then goes into the appropriate service box it would be a "net", "let". If it hits the net and does not go into the service box it would be a "net', "fault". In most cases without line judges we just say "let" or "net".
     
    #10
  11. Taxvictim

    Taxvictim Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    501
    Location:
    Wake County, NC
    I said I agreed with those who said it was a fault, but you're right. Why would a receiving player grant a let due to the server's fault? The original poster said, however, that his opponent allowed it as a let. I was only speculating as to why. The confusion is from my bad wording.

    Play ball!
     
    #11
  12. beernutz

    beernutz Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,399
    Location:
    expanding my Ignore List
    Just to clarify this sentence, the server is not granted a let if the server caused the delay, and since the server is the one who hit the ball into the net it would seem clear that he or she can't claim a let.

    I think we are probably saying the same thing.

    Code:
    USTA Comment 23.2: What happens when there is a delay between
    the first and second serves? If the delay is caused by the receiver
    (such as a broken string or contact lens problem), an official,
    or outside interference, the whole point is replayed. If the server
    caused the delay, such as when the server breaks a string, the server
    gets one serve. Note that a spectator’s call (“out,” “fault,” or other), a
    spectator’s ringing cell phone, or grunting on an adjacent court is not
    basis for replaying the point. Action should be taken to prevent further
    spectator interference.
     
    #12
  13. chlsmo

    chlsmo Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    521
    Location:
    So. Cal
    it was just a social game, so no big deal. It just got us thinking.
     
    #13

Share This Page