Rules Question -- crossing over the net to hit a ball

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by HitItHarder, Sep 27, 2010.

  1. HitItHarder

    HitItHarder Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    623
    Location:
    SC
    Just like the title says -- in a USTA unofficiated league match, who makes the call as to whether a player reached over the net to hit a ball?

    Is it the player who hit the shot (similar to the double bounce or double hit call) or can the players across the net make that call?

    Thanks ... HIH
     
    #1
  2. spot

    spot Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,438
    Location:
    Atlanta
    THe player who hits it has to call themselves for it. Which is why I personally think the rule should be done away with for unofficiated matches- some players just consistently ignore the rule since its hard to tell whether contact was made before an invisible line was crossed and it gives them a significant advantage. (in doubles at least)
     
    #2
  3. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    But if you change it to where the opposing player calls it, you will see a lot more issues with certain players calling it ever time it's close.

    Remember, you can follow-through with your racket over the net after hitting the ball. Most of the time, unless it's really, really flagrant, the player is waiting till it crosses, and it looks the other way to the opposing player.

    If both opponents are back near the baseline, how is it possible they can tell for sure if the net person hit it before the ball crossed the net.

    The way it is now causes much less problems than if the opponents were allowed to make the call.
     
    #3
  4. spot

    spot Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,438
    Location:
    Atlanta
    woodrow- in my world the part where you aren't allowed to cross the net would be the part eliminated. To me since there are some people who just don't ever call themselves for it to me it would be better to just let all players do it.
     
    #4
  5. CP3

    CP3 Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Interesting: so as long as the point of contact between ball and racket is before the net, it's a fair shot?
     
    #5
  6. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    Oh, ok. That makes more sense to me than my original idea of what you were saying.
     
    #6
  7. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    You are correct. The only time you can hit the ball on your opponent's side of the net is when the wind or backspin carry it back over after it has bounced on your side. You still can't touch the net or your opponent's court however.
     
    #7
  8. thehustler

    thehustler Rookie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    308
    Technically you could go around the net post, stand in the doubles alley and hit the ball into the net. That's only in singles though. In doubles you'd have to stand outside the alley and hit the ball. It's completely legal to do, but the odds of that ever happening are quite a long shot.
     
    #8
  9. HitItHarder

    HitItHarder Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    623
    Location:
    SC
    Thanks for the responses. We have a match tonight (USTA Combo) and a couple guys on our team believe one of the players on the other team is something of a habitual offender of this rule.

    I have told them before it is difficult to tell for the reasons Woodrow noted above and to just play on without worrying about it. But I wanted to make sure of the rule before I tried to reinforce this tonight.

    I kind of like Spot's point about just doing away with the rule and allowing it in unofficiated matches as long as you don't come in contact with the net. At least it would level the playing field and just let everyone do it.
     
    #9
  10. jswinf

    jswinf Professional

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,140
    Maybe you can't call an opponent for reaching over the net to hit a ball, but if they're doing it a lot you can whine about it, ask them "are you sure you didn't reach over the net to hit that?" and try to get it through their pointy little head that they shouldn't do that. Might help.

    Although it's hard to enforce, I wouldn't want to see the 'over the net' rule done away with. I've had experience with chumps who belly up to the net, stick their racket over with both hands, and mis-hit the ball straight down. Hard for them to miss, hard for you to defend. After all, maybe an opponent doesn't always call themselves on returning a ball a little after the second bounce. Should we just say,"Oh, 1 bounce, 3 bounces, what's the big deal?"

    Here's a question: can you make a call on an opponent who hits the net, I mean really whacks the sucker or runs into it, and acts like nothing happened? Or do they always have to call that on themselves?
     
    #10
  11. polski

    polski Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    633
    Location:
    Florida
    I have definately asked an opponent if they made contact before or after the ball crossed the net. I remember an opponent one time actually stood back, looked at the net, and agreed that he in fact had hit it before it crossed...very noble.

    I would be in favor of doing away with the over the net rule altogether...follow throughs included.

    I'd also like eliminating let cords on serves. Just like in volleyball & DI mens tennis, where agreessive serving can be rewarded by the occasional lucky bounce.
     
    #11

Share This Page