Rules question - Doubles serving order

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by kendall22, Oct 25, 2009.

  1. kendall22

    kendall22 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Location:
    New York
    Can the order of service between two partners change after the first set?

    i.e. Player A1 serves the first game, Player A2 serves the third game. Set ends 6-3 with player A1 serving it out on the ninth game.

    Can Player A1 serve first in the second set?
     
    #1
  2. Geezer Guy

    Geezer Guy Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,792
    Location:
    Big Canoe, GA
    Yes. After each set the serving order can change and the partners can switch sides if they want. Each set is a fresh start.
     
    #2
  3. jefferson

    jefferson Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    658
    Yes. Definitely. You can also decide to change which side you return from. Ad to deuce or deuce to ad.
     
    #3
  4. PatrickB

    PatrickB Rookie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    And a match tiebreak (third set tiebreak) counts as a new set, so you can change these between the end of the second set and the start of the match tiebreak as well.
     
    #4
  5. Wakenslam

    Wakenslam Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    ATL
    Sorry, wrong thread.
     
    #5

Share This Page