Rules question

Discussion in 'Tennis Tips/Instruction' started by steve d, Aug 24, 2007.

  1. steve d

    steve d Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    127
    During a recent high school girls doubles match the server hit a wild serve with a strong wind behind her. The receiver was so surprised she did not have time to get out of the way so she caught the ball to avoid being hit.

    The serving team claimed the point, on the basis that the receivers touched it before it went out. I understand that this would be the correct call on any other shot, but does it also apply to the serve?

    The receivers felt that because the ball never touched the service box that it was a fault. In their mind the point had not officially started because the serve did not go in the box.

    I didn't see anything in the Rule Book that applied to this particular situation, but I admit I only did a cursory look. I was hoping someone here had had this situation come up in the past.

    I understand why the rule applies in every other instance. But it seems weird that you should get a point for hitting the server. I would never have thought of trying to hit the receiver to get a free point.

    Any thoughts or referrals to the rule that applies in this case?
     
    #1
  2. psp2

    psp2 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,102
    #2
  3. steve d

    steve d Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    127
    Thanks. I missed that post.
     
    #3
  4. Loco4Tennis

    Loco4Tennis Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,814
    Location:
    Manassas, Virginia
    good catch by the way :)
     
    #4
  5. WildVolley

    WildVolley Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5,688
    Yep. That's why it pays not to be asleep when returning serves. If the pros can step out of the way of 140 mph serve, a high school student should be able to step out of the way of the serve.
     
    #5

Share This Page