Rules question

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by El Diablo, Aug 15, 2010.

  1. El Diablo

    El Diablo Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3,591
    I'm playing singles and my opponent angles off a volley that has me running for it towards the net post. I return the ball in play but keep running past the net post, crossing over the imaginary continuation of the net line onto his side, albeit well out of the court by now, never touching the net or post, while the ball has not yet bounced twice on his side. Have I committed an infraction?
     
    #1
  2. Islandtennis

    Islandtennis Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    205
    As long as you didn't cross his single sidelines you were fine. That is unless you were waiving your hands in the air taunting him that you were on his side of the net.
     
    #2
  3. NoSkillzAndy

    NoSkillzAndy Rookie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    What the above poster said. You're allowed to cross the other side of the net; you just can't touch the net or your opponent's court (the in-bounds portion).
     
    #3
  4. jswinf

    jswinf Professional

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,149
    No infraction, but not great preparation for getting to a possible return by your opponent either. You've gotta stop sometime.
     
    #4
  5. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    Correct.

    However, if you were using singles sticks, you would be allowed to touch the net outside of the singles sticks.
     
    #5

Share This Page