Rules Question

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by tennis_tater, Nov 1, 2010.

  1. tennis_tater

    tennis_tater Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    452
    I was playing doubles recently when my partner hit a perfect lob over our opponents' net player. The net player backpeddles and when the netplayer realizes he cannot hit an overhead, turns around, and upon seeing the ball bounce, says "out", but then immediatley corrects himself and says "no, it's in...keep playing" and his parnter crosses over and returns the ball that landed right on the baseline. Although I was sitting right at the end and was in perfect position to put away the opponent's ball, I caught the ball at the net and stopped play. I then said I didn't think a player could call a ball out, then change the call, then expect the opponents to continue play. Although I went ahead to told them to play the point over again (which we then lost), I had the feeling that the point should have been ours. What's the correct call?
     
  2. SweetH2O

    SweetH2O Rookie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Powder Springs, GA
    From The Code:
    IMO, the point is either replayed, or you get the point under the "weak sitter" provision.
     
  3. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,067
    I think if you were at net and caught the ball with your hand, that is almost the definition of a "weak sitter." Point to you.
     
  4. li0scc0

    li0scc0 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    2,173
    Hindsight is 20/20, of course, but next time simply put the ball away (the weak sitter). Obviously that doesn't answer the initial question, which has been answered adequately. :)
     
  5. athiker

    athiker Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,656
    True, but of course if you play the "weak sitter" and flub it, the point stands as played in your opponents' favor. Similar to a hindrance call, you can't play the point and then go back in time and claim a hindrance.
     

Share This Page