Rules, Regulations and Requirements That People Have Totally Made Up

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by Cindysphinx, Aug 27, 2010.

  1. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,070
    Ever played a match where a player swore up and down that a certain rule existed when it doesn't?

    One of my players once played a match where an opponent was utterly convinced that if you toss the ball and catch it with your racket before it bounces, that is a fault.

    I also had a lady go to the mat on the idea that you do not change sides after the first game in a set. It seems that one of the league coordinators had sent out an e-mail reminding everyone of the continuous play rule. Since this lady now understood that play must be continuous and you don't sit and drink after the first game, to her that meant you don't switch after the first game.

    I had my rules with me, but I simply couldn't find the right provision in the heat of the moment to show her, and I didn't want to spend a lot of time on it because we play timed matches. So I wound up serving first on one end and then serving the rest of the time from the other end. Because I knew she was completely and totally wrong, it bugged me the whole match.
     
    #1
  2. Steady Eddy

    Steady Eddy Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,545
    Location:
    Arizona
    That's not just true in tennis, people do that all the time. The person who is loudest and most emphatic isn't always right. Maybe it would help if people would state where they got their information. Something like; "A friend of mine who is a lawyer told me...", instead of shouting everyone down. Then what do they do when they find out they're wrong? They just shrug and say something like, "Oh well, I thought it was that other way." Don't they feel embarrassed? Wouldn't they feel the need to apologize? Wouldn't they learn from this and be more cautious in the future? Apparently not, a person I know who often does this like to joke that his motto is, "Often wrong, never in doubt"! :shock:

    Since people do this everywhere, why should we be surprised that they do it in tennis matches also?
     
    #2
  3. AR15

    AR15 Professional

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,125
    Location:
    Gulf Coast, USA
    No, but on multiple occasions, I've had opponents disagree with me about legitimate rules.

    I carry the rules book in my bag. But every time I have offered to pull it out (to prove my correctness) the opponents have said not to bother.
     
    #3
  4. spot

    spot Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,438
    Location:
    Atlanta
    The myth of the voice let. I have a few teammates who are convinced that there is such a thing as a "voice let" and have called it in a match. Just that if your opponent is taking during the point that they are allowed to call a "voice let" and play the point over.
     
    #4
  5. mikeler

    mikeler G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    19,678
    Location:
    Central Florida
    I was playing a teaching pro in an NTRP tournament one time when he stretched me out wide to my forehand. I took a big chop at the ball and it bounced on his side while he was up at the net. He did not touch it and it bounced back over on my side. I claimed the point and he said the point was his because there was a "rule change". Luckily the tournament referee was standing right by our court and awarded me the point.
     
    #5
  6. tennis tom

    tennis tom Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,734
    No, but I was swimming in the pool at ye' ol' club one day, when some weirdo, who I hadn't seen before or since, insisted you're supposed to swim between the black lane lines and not above them. I think he was nut's.
     
    #6
  7. Steady Eddy

    Steady Eddy Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,545
    Location:
    Arizona
    Sounds like he was intentionally lying and thought he could get away with it because he's a teaching pro.
     
    #7
  8. mikeler

    mikeler G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    19,678
    Location:
    Central Florida

    Did you mean to quote me? If so, I would have to agree with you.
     
    #8
  9. spot

    spot Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,438
    Location:
    Atlanta
    The idea that you can't cross the imaginary line extending from the net is a common rule myth.
     
    #9
  10. jc4.0

    jc4.0 Professional

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    803
    Rules schmules

    I also carry a copy of the Code in my bag, but rarely get it out. I don't want to get the reputation of some people as being such a stickler. Sometimes if there's a discrepancy about "out" calls, if it's a friendly game, we just replay the point. So what?

    In league play however, I think rules should be followed because it prevents arguments and angst. I would have probably insisted on sticking to the rule about changeovers after first game. That's such a basic rule of tennis, it's difficult to believe someone who plays in a league wouldn't have known it; and in fact in our league it's a requirement that everyone know these basic rules. The first-game changeover also can give one side an advantage over the other and be part of a team's strategy, that's the reason for this rule and why you pick sides at the start.
     
    #10
  11. jc4.0

    jc4.0 Professional

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    803
    Well your racquet can cross the net, but your arm can't - you can't just reach all the way over there and make a shot, nor of course can you set foot upon your opponent's side, even if the ball sneaks around the net post.
     
    #11
  12. Steady Eddy

    Steady Eddy Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,545
    Location:
    Arizona
    Oops. You're right. :oops:

    At any rate, you agree with me.
     
    #12
  13. jc4.0

    jc4.0 Professional

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    803
    Maybe wait for the changeover?

    This is a new one on me. What, are people discussing last night's date or their kids' braces during a point? If people make quick point-related comments like "mine!" or "uh oh!" or even curse a bit during a point, I'd say let it go, we all make some kinds of noise. Once the point starts, scream, grunt, or whatever you want. I'm just focused on the ball. And if you have enough breath during a point to have an actual conversation, you aren't running hard enough right?

    One exception - People who play with me know that I really hate talking while I'm getting ready to serve, and I will stand there and wait for them to quieten down, as long as it takes, before serving.

    One other notable exception - I once played next to a court of doubles where the man screamed at his wife constantly and at the top of his lungs, it was really like verbal abuse - he was calling her an idiot, insulting her and criticizing her loudly every time she missed a shot. I finally went over there and told him to shut it.
     
    #13
  14. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,070
    There are also people who insist on playing a "through" as a let rather than loss of point. With a "through" being when the ball goes under the net strap or through a hole in the net.
     
    #14
  15. sureshs

    sureshs Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    35,055
    You can only if the ball has sufficient underspin and has crossed over to the other side. Otherwise, no part of your body or racquet can cross the net while the ball is in play.
     
    #15
  16. sureshs

    sureshs Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    35,055
    Doesn't make sense. You can reach all the way there only with the racquet, so your first and second points are in contradiction.
     
    #16
  17. InsideOutBackhand

    InsideOutBackhand New User

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    That only applies to hitting the ball. You can cross the net anytime the ball is in play as long as neither you nor anything on your person touches the net or the opponent's court (does not include the area outside the lines), so long as you do not hinder your opponent.

    Example: You retrieve a drop shot and your momentum makes you continue to the other side of the court around the net post. You do not immediately lose the point unless you make contact with either the net or "in" court on your opponent's side. Same applies to stopping just at the net and encroaching over the net to regain your balance.

    But you would lose the point if you took any action to deliberately hinder your opponent.
     
    #17
  18. tennis tom

    tennis tom Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,734
    My understanding of the rule is you can't reach over the net to hit a ball, but your follow through can go over the net and I think that would include your racket and your arm. If I'm wrong on that, I'd be happy to be corrected.
     
    #18
  19. Mike2228

    Mike2228 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    860 CT
    someone once told me that if you have balls in your pocket and they fall out during a point, the other team is awarded the point. I can see how it makes sense, but I'm not sure if its true.
     
    #19
  20. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    Don't you ever know all of the rules? This post of yours are exact type of made up rule that this thread is about.
     
    #20
  21. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    The first time it happens, it's a let. The second and each subsequent time, they lose the point.
     
    #21
  22. athiker

    athiker Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,656
    I thought I read in the USTA magazine once that if a ball falls out of your pocket that you may not call a let as the hindrance was caused by you. Of course I also recently read that an opponent may require you to clear balls by the net on your side or anywhere on your side of the court if they find them distracting...so maybe this is what you mean? Ball falls out of your pocket during play and your opponent is the one that calls the let.
     
    #22
  23. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    Right. You can't call the let if the ball falls out of your own pocket. Your opponent or an official can. The first time it's a let, any subsequent times, its loss of point.
     
    #23
  24. Larrysümmers

    Larrysümmers Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,995
    Location:
    1313 Mockingbird Lane.
    hey where would a fellow as myself obtain this said handbook? i think it would come in handy!
     
    #24
  25. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    USTA.com for the USTA Friend At Court. You can also obtain the rules of tennis at ITFTennis.com.

    If you are not in the US, I am sure your national organization has a rulebook you can download as well.
     
    #25
  26. Islandtennis

    Islandtennis Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    205

    Woodrow, in an unofficiated match the opponent cannot claim the point can they?
     
    #26
  27. Beacon Hill

    Beacon Hill Professional

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,230
    Certainly they can. Why would your opponents not be allowed to call it? Players act as the officials in unofficiated matches.
     
    #27
  28. jswinf

    jswinf Professional

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,143
    ^^^Maybe the point is that when 2 singles opponents (or 2 doubles pairs) disagree on a call or a rule and don't have an agreed-on authority (like an official) to make a final decision, how does either side get off "claiming" or "overruling" much of anything? Sure, it's nice when you're right that the other guy agrees with you, but if parties with an equal say disagree and there's too much claiming and overruling, you're asking for an "is too" "is not" "your mother wears army shoes" kind of a situation. We've just all gotta be reasonable people, and then there are some folks that have trouble finding someone to play with them. Of course in Arizona we have liberal gun laws. (Is that a contradiction in terms?)
     
    #28

Share This Page