Ruling: low ball clips post and comes into play

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by tennisdad65, Apr 8, 2009.

  1. tennisdad65

    tennisdad65 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    3,060
    Location:
    somewhere in calif
    The following situation happened in a friendly doubles get together match:
    My opponent hit a low forehand from outside the doubles alley. If the net was tightly wrapped to the post, the ball would not get through. But, there is a gap between the post and the net. The ball clipped the inside of the net post below the level of the net, (i.e. went through the gap between the net and the post) and fell into our court for a winner.

    no one knew what the ruling was so we replayed the point. what is the correct ruling?
     
    #1
  2. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    If it went through between the net post and the net, the player that hit the ball loses the point.
     
    #2
  3. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    The ball can go around the net post below the height of the net, but not between the post and the net.
     
    #3
  4. tennisdad65

    tennisdad65 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    3,060
    Location:
    somewhere in calif
    thanks woodrow..
    that makes sense, since it would be a netted ball if the net is tied well to the post.
     
    #4
  5. mikeler

    mikeler G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    19,811
    Location:
    Central Florida
    Makes sense.
     
    #5
  6. saram

    saram Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5,371
    JCF hit a shot at Wimbledon a year or two ago that hit the net post and came back into play--they ruled it a winner for JCF....
     
    #6
  7. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    Yes, but it hit the post and went over the net. In the OP's question, the ball went through the gap between the post and the net.

    And, while on the subject of a ball hitting the post and going in, if it happens on a groundstroke, the point continues and if it happens on a serve, it's a fault.
     
    #7
  8. saram

    saram Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5,371
    No, it did not go over the net....
     
    #8
  9. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    Then where did it go?
     
    #9
  10. saram

    saram Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5,371
    #10
  11. woodrow1029

    woodrow1029 Guest

    The umpire made a mistake. I think he didn't realize that it went through it. Should be Ferrero's point. Thanks for the video. I hadn't seen that one.
     
    #11
  12. saram

    saram Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5,371
    I think there was heavy discussion here following the point and the general consensus was that it should have been JCF's point and the Umpire made a mistake.
     
    #12
  13. Geezer Guy

    Geezer Guy Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,792
    Location:
    Big Canoe, GA
    Actually, you can hear the commentator stating that that should NOT be Blakes point.
     
    #13
  14. NE14Tennis?

    NE14Tennis? New User

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI
    I don't think the ump realized that it went through the net/post gap - in real-time, it looks almost like it bounced off the post just atop the net. With the ump directly above, I'd bet he couldn't see it clearly. But yes, it was a mistake.
     
    #14

Share This Page