Ruling on serve

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by 86golf, Sep 14, 2010.

  1. 86golf

    86golf Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    607
    Location:
    Carolinas
    Last night in a 7.5 combo match I hit a nasty kicker out wide in the ad court for an ace...then my ball proceeded to travel into the adjacent court and strike the server on the adjacent court before it bounced twice. If it matters, it was the opposing teams server on line 1 on the adjacent court and we were playing line 2 next to them. The Ace stood, but I'm wondering if a let could have been called.
     
    #1
  2. polski

    polski Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    633
    Location:
    Florida
    If it interfered with their point, they can call a let. You or your opponents cannot call a let for the neighboring court.

    Nice serve...I am picturing courts that are really close together (12' between is the legal minimum) & a server on the neighboring court standing in the doubles alley. Still...that's a heckuva kick!
     
    #2
  3. polski

    polski Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    633
    Location:
    Florida
    I think I see what you are asking, could your opponents have called a let since the serve hit another person.

    The answer is no. People on neighboring courts are considered "fixed objects" just like a ref, ball boy, linesperson, etc. Your opponent would need to be able to get the ball before it strikes a fixed object...no different than the ball going into the fence before the 2nd bounce.
     
    #3
  4. Perry the Platypus

    Perry the Platypus Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    I do that frequently enough to know that your opponent cannot call a let in that case.

    My opponents get particularly frustrated if I serve them into the fence (outside) or the curtain (inside)
     
    #4

Share This Page