Sampras forehand round the net

Discussion in 'Former Pro Player Talk' started by laurie, Feb 16, 2008.

  1. laurie

    laurie Guest

    #1
  2. yourmom08

    yourmom08 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    206
    thats one nervous ballboy
     
    #2
  3. nickb

    nickb Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    6,292
    Nice video..thanks for posting..
     
    #3
  4. AznHylite

    AznHylite Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    Vancouver BC
    Wow, amazing. I'm speechless =_=
     
    #4
  5. wlinchon

    wlinchon Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    156
    Is that shot good? I mean, doesn't it have to go over the net and land in to be a winner? No matter how many times I look at the clip, I still can't understand.
     
    #5
  6. him88002

    him88002 Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    108
    Dude it doesn't have to go over the net it just has to land in.
     
    #6
  7. Zhou

    Zhou Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,228
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Well he got the point didn't he?
    And they called it a winner...
     
    #7
  8. jasoncho92

    jasoncho92 Professional

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    900
    Its a legal shot.
     
    #8
  9. aceroberts13

    aceroberts13 Professional

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,029
    Location:
    100 Miles Away; Ready to Strike
    I'm guessing that cross court is not an option there?
     
    #9
  10. TENNIS_IS_FUN

    TENNIS_IS_FUN Professional

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Messages:
    960
    He hits the winner. Doesn't hit the ball kid. Avoids hitting the umpire chair. Jumps over the chairs. GG.
     
    #10
  11. kimbahpnam

    kimbahpnam Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,675
    #11
  12. quest01

    quest01 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    4,611
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2008
    #12
  13. wlinchon

    wlinchon Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    156
    My apologies for my ignorance. I know that that shot is now history but, for example, let's say that someone serves a shot that is extremely wide (with a wicked kicking slice). All I have to do is return it straight down, regardless of the height of the net, and have it land in to make it a winner? Why have I been trying to get it over the net then?

    And what if the court has the length of the net slightly longer that the width of the court, post to post? Then some courts would be 'easier' to hit winners, wouldn't they? Are there rules as to how long the net should be?

    Again, my apologies. I just really want to know.
     
    #13
  14. VGP

    VGP Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    6,311
    Location:
    Location: Location
    Technically, the rule is the net posts have to be three feet outside the sideline. For exclusively singles play, the net is placed within where the doubles alleys are. Around the net post shots are more possible in singles play that way.

    The same would therefore go for doubles play where the net posts are placed outside the doubles sideline. Around the net post shots are possible too when the court is "expanded" to include the doubles alleys.
     
    #14
  15. laurie

    laurie Guest

    Actually talking about around the net post it reminds me of this incredible forehand winner from sampras - from a seemingly impossible deep position

    http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=-Gj8GFK-QiQ

    It's the 4th point in the game.
     
    #15
  16. Djokovicfan4life

    Djokovicfan4life Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5,484
    Location:
    Stillwater, OK
    Haha, I just found that myself and I was about to post it. :)
     
    #16
  17. notujoo

    notujoo Rookie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    318
    GG speachles....
     
    #17
  18. Roger Federer 95

    Roger Federer 95 Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Tucson,AZ
    That was an awesome shot!
     
    #18
  19. A.Davidson

    A.Davidson Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    617
    Great play.

    Not so great hurdle over the chairs. :p
     
    #19
  20. dr_punk

    dr_punk Professional

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,007
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    that was great. thanks!
     
    #20
  21. laurie

    laurie Guest

    #21

Share This Page