saying sorry.

Discussion in 'Adult League & Tournament Talk' started by Larrysümmers, Aug 29, 2010.

  1. Larrysümmers

    Larrysümmers Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,990
    Location:
    1313 Mockingbird Lane.
    when are some times you say sorry? when i hit someone or come close to hitting them like on a serve or slam er something like that ill say sorry.
    i was told i am to say sorry when i win a point that bounces off the net and trickles in. im not sure why but eh,
    so what are some times when you are supposed to apologize
     
    #1
  2. Cindysphinx

    Cindysphinx G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15,067
    After the second or third toss yip, when I decide to re-start my service routine.
     
    #2
  3. Commando Tennis Shorts

    Commando Tennis Shorts Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,708
    Probably a more genuine thing to do on a net-chord is to put up your hand/racquet in a sign that you acknowledge that it was luck. You don't need to say sorry, though, because if you were really sorry, you would play a let.
     
    #3
  4. Larrysümmers

    Larrysümmers Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,990
    Location:
    1313 Mockingbird Lane.
    yeah i see that a lot in the pros.
     
    #4
  5. jswinf

    jswinf Professional

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    I don't think most people care if you acknowledge luck winning a point off a let-cord shot, but you shouldn't go strutting around like you did it on purpose and give it a few "c'mons" either.
     
    #5
  6. njsigman

    njsigman Rookie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    My favorite was the time that I was playing this guy, and he won a point on a net cord that barely fell over the net and he fist pumped. I felt like killing the guy....
     
    #6
  7. Commando Tennis Shorts

    Commando Tennis Shorts Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,708
    I catch myself doing the same thing when someone doesn't put up their hand/racquet, even though there's really nothing to be mad about. After all, I'd probably be just as happy if the circumstances were reversed.

    But fist-pumping is something totally different. That's just---evil, lol
     
    #7
  8. TenS_Ace

    TenS_Ace Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    274
    Nothing like winning a net cord point and then start performing the ole lawnmower start!! That really gets into their heads then!!...and then you get a parking lot beat down!:shock::shock::twisted:
     
    #8
  9. Jaewonnie

    Jaewonnie Professional

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142
    When I hit a overly ridiculous winner or just a unintentional winner that has been a bit overdone in a friendly rally.
     
    #9
  10. njsigman

    njsigman Rookie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    As a result, I took great pride in the beat down I gave him. 6-3, 6-1, 6-0.. :)
     
    #10
  11. Commando Tennis Shorts

    Commando Tennis Shorts Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,708
    Where do amateurs play 5-set matches?
     
    #11
  12. hrstrat57

    hrstrat57 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,694
    Location:
    RI
    When I frame a shot and it goes for a winner.....or net cord winner.....
     
    #12
  13. njsigman

    njsigman Rookie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    He insisted on playing a third set, so I granted his wish for a beatdown. :)
     
    #13
  14. cll30

    cll30 Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    I never apologize for a net-chord winner. I don't gloat either, but if I could hit one on purpose I would hit it every time.
     
    #14
  15. blakesq

    blakesq Professional

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,319
    Location:
    Connecticut
    the only time i say i am sorry is when I hit or almost hit my opponent with the ball.

     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2010
    #15
  16. MythicalBeast

    MythicalBeast New User

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    #16
  17. NLBwell

    NLBwell Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7,083
    Does the ball have to hit the net 3 times to get a net-chord winner?
     
    #17
  18. Perry the Platypus

    Perry the Platypus Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    I'll usually apologize if I hit a craptastic shank winner.....
     
    #18
  19. r2473

    r2473 Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,966
    I keep a stack of these in my bag and hand them out. Just raising your hand is too impersonal:

    [​IMG]
     
    #19
  20. chatt_town

    chatt_town Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,989

    You know what....I agree with the part where if someone was sorry, they'd play a let. I think it's total b.s to say you're sorry for hitting the net. I'd just assume not even put my hand up either and don't do it because the truth is if I could do it every time and get the point....I would(especially after the @$$ ripping I took tonight in the 4.5 playoffs.lol). It's not a matter of is it right or wrong, it's a matter of doing what it takes outside of cheating to get a point. Navratilova says they should even consider making the players play the net cord on the serve. I'd like to hear her reason for saying that because she along with Brad Gilbert really make sense when they talk Tennis.
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2010
    #20
  21. SoBad

    SoBad Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    7,558
    Location:
    shiran
    All the time, why wouldn't you? I like to play with people who want to go 5 sets per practice, regardless of outcome of first 3/4 sets.
     
    #21
  22. chatt_town

    chatt_town Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,989
    I play a lot of 5 set matches especially in the spring to build endurance for the summer and will occasionally do it a couple of weeks before a tourney to prepare for the long 3 setters.
     
    #22
  23. SoBad

    SoBad Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    7,558
    Location:
    shiran
    Yes, I think for a tournament player 5-setters are great preparation. It's good for curing hitches too, because you have a margin and there isn't as much tension.
     
    #23
  24. Commando Tennis Shorts

    Commando Tennis Shorts Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,708
    I was talking about actual tournament play, but I see now that you are talking about practice.
     
    #24
  25. aceX

    aceX Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,906
    Location:
    In position
    If we're rallying, if I hit a ball that they can't reach I'll say sorry.

    If in a match, if I hit someone, if I get a let cord or if I mis-hit and the ball bounces right by the net I'll say it.
     
    #25
  26. Vermillion

    Vermillion Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,230
    Rule to live by: Never say sorry* (esp. if it was funny).

    *Not just for the tennis courts.
     
    #26
  27. Big_Dangerous

    Big_Dangerous Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5,903
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Yeah I was going to say it's pretty rare for people I play with to do that. All the tournaments I've ever been to the format has been a pro set, just play until 8 games all. It actually kind of sucks to be honest.

    A lot of the people on the club I play at are also kind of wimpy. All they want to do is hit around. If me or my good friend don't bring up playing a match most people won't even mention it... It's kind of like we're the ones forcing them to play a match.... I should really find a new club because also the one I'm in is divided as well, you've got the peons like me and my friend who are like 3.0 maybe 3.5 at best and then the dudes who are incredibly arrogant and refuse to hit with you because they are 4.0 level.

    /rant



    I do say sorry or hold up my hand on all net cords that I hit, regardless of whether my opponent gets them back or not. I also say sorry or hold up my hand on all smashes that hit or nearly hit my opponents. I just feel that is the right thing to do. I like to practice good tennis etiquette, nothing worse than people who don't play the game the right way.
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2010
    #27
  28. tiochaota

    tiochaota Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Should not be.sorry.if you win a point, do boxers say sorry when they hit the other guy in the face ?haha
     
    #28
  29. jswinf

    jswinf Professional

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    I wonder if Roddick's sorry about last night's line judge abuse/tantrum.
     
    #29
  30. rh310

    rh310 Professional

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,020
    Location:
    NY USA
    And J McEnroe continues to characterize it as the player apologizing for winning the point, and make fun of it.

    I've always thought of it as simply acknowledging the luck, as Shorts says.
     
    #30
  31. fruitytennis1

    fruitytennis1 Professional

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,092
    Location:
    I wish i knew
    If while rallying i hit an unreachable shot.
    In a non-competitive match i peg someone
     
    #31
  32. Bud

    Bud Bionic Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    31,165
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    When winning a net cord point, it's 3 fists pumps, yell Vamos! and then the vicht :twisted:
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2010
    #32
  33. West Coast Ace

    West Coast Ace G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    13,310
    Location:
    So Cal
    Yeah. But he's not going to invite Betty the Linejudge over for Movie Night with Brooklyn... :)

    I agree. It's not an apology.

    I only hold my hand up when I hit a net chord against my ball machine. Don't want it going Terminator on me...
     
    #33
  34. jc4.0

    jc4.0 Professional

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    803
    Celebration rules

    I say I'm sorry if I have to catch my toss more than twice, because that's truly annoying. Also - if I directly smack someone with an overhead or ground stroke, because I know that's leaving a mark (even as I'm thinking, I didn't mean to hit you, but why didn't you move?).

    I don't apologize for making an "accidental winner" like a weird mis-hit or ball that dribbles over after clipping the net. That would just be insincere - a point is a point.

    But I agree with a couple of posters here that it is kind of rude to "celebrate" after you win with a shot like that. It's also rude to celebrate your opponent's double-fault, or other terrible shot that handed you a point, or when your opponent gives you a easy sitter and you put it away (if you didn't hit the winner, you're a a total wanker right?). Exception to the rule is if it's match point, and you're just generally happy because you won the whole thing.
     
    #34
  35. Ken Honecker

    Ken Honecker Rookie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Spokane, Washington
    Heck I tell them I've been trying for that all day as they haven't been covering it. Against friends anyway.
     
    #35
  36. Gemini

    Gemini Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,577
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Same here, but usually after I don't swing at the first toss. Lately (because I haven't been playing much at all) I've been in this situation.
     
    #36
  37. Falloutjr

    Falloutjr Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,248
    Location:
    Akron, OH
    I say sorry when I:

    - Catch my ball toss (don't remember the last time I did lol)
    - When I hit the net cord in a rally and it bounces on their side
    - If a ball I hit hits them or if I really miss a serve and it lands near them
    - When I hit a shot they can't return in warm-ups or if I don't return it

    I know some of you say you don't apologize for hitting the net cord, but I do because I know it's not the way I would prefer to win a point. I believe my opponents should have a legit chance to win the point, and if it clips the tape and rolls a couple inches over, that's kinda cheap.
     
    #37
  38. Totai

    Totai Professional

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,397
    Never appologize. Never explain
     
    #38
  39. jms007

    jms007 Professional

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    832
    I wish I had that kind of time.

    I usually barely get past 2 sets, which take up about 2 hours on average. Sometimes we squeeze in a third in 2.5 hours.
     
    #39
  40. AELTC

    AELTC New User

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    NJ
    Game vs Practice

    Commando, I was confused about this also. Sigman isn't talking about an actual game, he's talking about practice. I didn't realize we were talking about practice, until the topic of this thread was clarified here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eGDBR2L5kzI
     
    #40
  41. Bedrock

    Bedrock Semi-Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    416
    Я не помню, а когда "Брат" говорил sorry :) ?
     
    #41
  42. ThePro101

    ThePro101 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    305
    • Hitting someone/very close to hitting someone.
    • Hitting the net and having the ball fall in for a winner.
    • Hitting the ball very far off the court (they have to retrieve it).
    • Mis-hit winner.
    • When your phone rings in the middle of a point.


    and my personal favourite, and the most rare...

    • After playing a Golden Set (no points for one of the opponents).
    - This is true if you are the winner, or the loser.
     
    #42
  43. SoBad

    SoBad Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    7,558
    Location:
    shiran
    What can I say, you have to prioritise.

    Брат is Vermillion and Vermillion is Брат, neither of those four ever say sorry.
     
    #43
  44. Ken Honecker

    Ken Honecker Rookie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Spokane, Washington
    To explain my position a little better let me say that in my formative years we played mostly under the freeway where lobs weren't easily used, we mostly played doubles with young high schoolers parked right at the net so I got into the habit of hitting the ball about 4 inches above the net. Sure every now and then I launch one that hits square on the tape and drops on my side but I don't hang much up there for the other team to punish me with. Besides with my traditional Eastern strokes I don't generate the spin required to loop the ball 4 feet over the net and not go long.

    For those reasons I don't feel my hitting the net cord for a winner is much different than my hitting the base line for one as that is about where I am aiming most of the time.
     
    #44
  45. ProgressoR

    ProgressoR Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,005
    Location:
    No Man's Land
    when rallying, if i hit a killer deep drive and paint the side lines, I apologise, and silently wish I could do it in the match.
     
    #45
  46. jswinf

    jswinf Professional

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    I've never seen a tennis court under a freeway. But my Dad used to talk about playing basketball in a gym so small the walls were considered in bounds, I always thought that had interesting possibilites...
     
    #46
  47. Ken Honecker

    Ken Honecker Rookie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Spokane, Washington
    Those courts were the home ones for a High School located right in the heart of town for quite a while before they built new ones a couple of miles from the school. In the 70's and 80's I played a zillion games there because the nets were up all year unlike the city parks where they take them down for about 5 months in the winter. Also the lights were on until about 10:30 at night. Sadly after I got back into tennis a couple of years ago I found that they now had what amounted to a homeless camp there with folks laying about on sleeping bags and no nets up.

    As for small courts one of the schools I play volleyball in has the baseline about 2 inches from the back wall so sometimes the wall is in and sometimes it is out which makes it a little hard to read.
     
    #47

Share This Page